Jump to content


bug with driving controls - not reseting keypress


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

cheapbooks #1 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:06

    Captain

  • Players
  • 38708 battles
  • 1,139
  • [CBKS] CBKS
  • Member since:
    08-21-2013

this bug has been in the game for a long time.

 

sometimes when I am driving, the tank will start driving on its own based on the last keypress

 

for example, if I press W and release it, the tank will keep driving forward, and it will ignore any other driving controls. it only resets if I hit W a second time

 

if I am turning, and release the key, the tank will keep turning, even if I press a key to turn in the other direction, until I press the original key again and release

 

I am sure this is because the packet gets lost for the key release.

 

this causes problems because I might be driving forward to get into a firing position, and release the W key, and then the tank just keeps driving and exposes the tank



Hellsfog #2 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:18

    Major

  • Players
  • 37851 battles
  • 6,614
  • [VILIN] VILIN
  • Member since:
    06-22-2011
Are you blaming your keyboard sticking for the [edited]advice and the general crapplay demonstrated in your videos?

Ndtm #3 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:22

    Major

  • Players
  • 17694 battles
  • 4,531
  • Member since:
    05-01-2012
If you know that it's packet loss.. then why are you calling it a bug? when it has nothing to do with the game or server

Playz4Free #4 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:32

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 1531 battles
  • 173
  • Member since:
    09-25-2015
That's not a bug. You are experiencing lag/packet loss, this is leading to these delays. I have experienced this before on a few occasions when I get a lag spike and my ping shoots to 400. I usually curse out Steam for starting a download (because I can't be held responsible for forgetting to close it last time it was up lol) and go back to playing.

_Tsavo_ #5 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:34

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 45487 battles
  • 19,352
  • [BRVE] BRVE
  • Member since:
    02-16-2011
Packet loss isn't a bug.   

The_Illusive_Man #6 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:48

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13312 battles
  • 4,264
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014
Packet loss... Wifi will do that to you...

GeorgePreddy #7 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 01:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 14680 battles
  • 13,074
  • Member since:
    04-11-2013

View Postcheapbooks, on Jul 04 2019 - 21:06, said:

this bug has been in the game for a long time.

 

I am sure this is because the packet gets lost for the key release.

 

 

??????????

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Projectile_Misfired #8 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 02:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 38026 battles
  • 2,585
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

View Postcheapbooks, on Jul 05 2019 - 00:06, said:

this bug has been in the game for a long time.

sometimes when I am driving, the tank will start driving on its own based on the last keypress

for example, if I press W and release it, the tank will keep driving forward, and it will ignore any other driving controls. it only resets if I hit W a second time

if I am turning, and release the key, the tank will keep turning, even if I press a key to turn in the other direction, until I press the original key again and release

I am sure this is because the packet gets lost for the key release.

this causes problems because I might be driving forward to get into a firing position, and release the W key, and then the tank just keeps driving and exposes the tank

I experienced a similar bug earlier today. 

But, after I turned off the touchscreen on the monitor, when that bug landed on my screen again, it didn't affect it. It didn't get a chance to land on anything else after that either.



bilzbobaggins #9 Posted Jul 05 2019 - 05:48

    Captain

  • Players
  • 47876 battles
  • 1,067
  • [-SSS-] -SSS-
  • Member since:
    12-21-2013
Hate to agree with op, but it happens to me from time to time.  It auto engages cruise control.  I never reach over and hit r three times, but its locked on.  It is annoying.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users