Jump to content


Black screen.

Game Center Black Screen

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

Manabozo #1 Posted Aug 17 2019 - 21:44

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 46245 battles
  • 632
  • [GMONK] GMONK
  • Member since:
    04-12-2011
Launched Game Center today, and it restarted for an update. After this, the window is black without any highlight-able content. Uninstalled and re-installed. Removed all games and re-installed. Ran as admin. Deleted preferences. Removed everything from the registry. Still showing a black window.

TDRHooRaH #2 Posted Aug 17 2019 - 22:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 24023 battles
  • 4,643
  • Member since:
    09-21-2012

Video drivers ?

 

Everything else still work?



Manabozo #3 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 00:21

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 46245 battles
  • 632
  • [GMONK] GMONK
  • Member since:
    04-12-2011

Yes.Everything else works, just the game center.

 

I would have added an image, but...

"You have entered a link to a website that the administrator does not allow links to"

 

I guess photobucket is out

 


Edited by Manabozo, Aug 18 2019 - 01:17.


TDRHooRaH #4 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:03

    Major

  • Players
  • 24023 battles
  • 4,643
  • Member since:
    09-21-2012

Strange man.

 

I looked.. Couldn't find anything.

 

Best of luck.

 

Edit: You use discord? I read it could be an overlay issue... Or possibly roll back the latest windows driver... Or running the game in borderless window mode.

 

:(


Edited by TDRHooRaH, Aug 18 2019 - 01:08.


Coffee_ #5 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:23

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43495 battles
  • 801
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

Try your AppData folder. Its hidden or locked. You need to change your windows explorer settings to show hidden files/folders..

It will be something like this...
C:\Users\**YOUR WINDOWS NAME**\AppData\Roaming\Wargaming.net\GameCenter

Clean out that folder and reinstall the game center.



bad_73 #6 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:29

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 1574 battles
  • 579
  • Member since:
    03-16-2019

View PostManabozo, on Aug 17 2019 - 21:44, said:

Launched Game Center today, and it restarted for an update. After this, the window is black without any highlight-able content. Uninstalled and re-installed. Removed all games and re-installed. Ran as admin. Deleted preferences. Removed everything from the registry. Still showing a black window.

Delete game center????



Coffee_ #7 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:31

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43495 battles
  • 801
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

That's the same driver for my 660 Ti cards I'm running and I'm not having any issues with the game center.

Hope you sort it out.. If you do.. post the answer.. May save some ones butt :)



Coffee_ #8 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:32

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43495 battles
  • 801
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

View Postbad_73, on Aug 17 2019 - 19:29, said:

Delete game center????

yes

 



nuclearguy931 #9 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:33

    Major

  • Players
  • 82825 battles
  • 11,060
  • [UMM] UMM
  • Member since:
    08-16-2011
Bypass Game Center. Open the WoT folder and start the game from the launcher in there. I put a shortcut to the launcher on my desktop and never use Game Center.

Coffee_ #10 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:35

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43495 battles
  • 801
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011
You could also try running the game center in different compatibility modes.

Projectile_Misfired #11 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:41

    Major

  • Players
  • 38752 battles
  • 3,020
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

There was a thread with a similar issue a few days ago:

http://forum.worldoftanks.com/index.php?/topic/609960-wgc-launcher-all-black-with-test-word-in-top-left-corner/page__p__12222465#entry12222465

 

He said he fixed it by deleting the GC via the Control Panel and re-downloading it.



Coffee_ #12 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 01:43

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43495 battles
  • 801
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

There is also the hidden folder called ProgramData in your C drives root.
In that folder is a Wargaming.net folder.
Id look in there and see of it was cleaned out when you uninstalled.

 

Windows.. be like.. "Lets install a little here... a little there.. so the user can't clean it up. hahahaaha"


Edited by Coffee_, Aug 18 2019 - 01:45.


Manabozo #13 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 03:07

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 46245 battles
  • 632
  • [GMONK] GMONK
  • Member since:
    04-12-2011
Used the GC uninstaller. Uninstalled from control panel. Deleted anything on all drives with the name "wargaming", including in programdata. Started as admin. Ran under compatibility mode under windows 8 and windows 7. Removed overlay. No change.

Edited by Manabozo, Aug 18 2019 - 03:10.


Projectile_Misfired #14 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 03:44

    Major

  • Players
  • 38752 battles
  • 3,020
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

View PostManabozo, on Aug 18 2019 - 02:07, said:

Used the GC uninstaller. Uninstalled from control panel. Deleted anything on all drives with the name "wargaming", including in programdata. Started as admin. Ran under compatibility mode under windows 8 and windows 7. Removed overlay. No change.

Try restoring your computer to a restore point from 2 or more days ago. It's possible that Windows, your video card, or something else recently ran an update that could be interfering with your GC.



Manabozo #15 Posted Aug 18 2019 - 19:08

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 46245 battles
  • 632
  • [GMONK] GMONK
  • Member since:
    04-12-2011

View PostProjectile_Misfired, on Aug 17 2019 - 21:44, said:

Try restoring your computer to a restore point from 2 or more days ago. It's possible that Windows, your video card, or something else recently ran an update that could be interfering with your GC.


That's the thing. I started GC, A small dialog box popped up that looked like it was from Wargaming saying "applying update" and closed. So I opened it back up and boom, black screen ever since.



Projectile_Misfired #16 Posted Aug 19 2019 - 02:46

    Major

  • Players
  • 38752 battles
  • 3,020
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

View PostManabozo, on Aug 18 2019 - 18:08, said:

That's the thing. I started GC, A small dialog box popped up that looked like it was from Wargaming saying "applying update" and closed. So I opened it back up and boom, black screen ever since.

First off, this is probably what caused your problem. So, in the future, whenever you get that little pop-up, just leave it be and let it do it's thing. Trying to re-start the GC while it's trying to update probably corrupted one or more of it's files.

Now, I know you've said that you've uninstalled/re-installed the game and/or GC. But, maybe you could try re-downloading the game to a different folder (My guess is that you currently have it at "C" (or whatever drive your OS is running on) ":\Games\World_of_Tanks").

So, create a new folder (call it whatever you want, but my suggestion would be "GamesWoT" so it's close to your original folder) on your "C-drive"(or whatever drive your OS is on). Download and install the game to THAT new folder, **but DO NOT run/start the game or GC from the install process. Once installed, restart your computer.

After the computer has restarted, navigate to the "GamesWot\World_of_Tanks" folder (again, the first folder will be whatever you called). Once there, double-click the "WoTLauncher.exe" file (the ".exe" might not be displayed depending on file-view settings). That should start the newly downloaded GC.

Make sure you give it "firewall" access.

And, if asked for the location of the WoT game, point it towards the folder you just started the GC from.

Hope that works for you. If it doesn't, contact Customer Support and let them know that you tried starting the GC while it was still in the process of updating. They may have a quick and easy fix for that.



Per48d #17 Posted Aug 19 2019 - 18:08

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 27314 battles
  • 62
  • Member since:
    08-20-2014
Mine installed a WoT update at 12:35. Now my WoT starts and goes to a black screen . I have done all of the file verification and integrity checks. I have even tried starting it in safe mode; still only a black screen.  Warships runs perfectly from the GC launcher; It is definitely a WoT malfunction.

Edited by Per48d, Aug 19 2019 - 18:23.


Manabozo #18 Posted Aug 19 2019 - 21:42

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 46245 battles
  • 632
  • [GMONK] GMONK
  • Member since:
    04-12-2011

View PostProjectile_Misfired, on Aug 18 2019 - 20:46, said:

First off, this is probably what caused your problem. So, in the future, whenever you get that little pop-up, just leave it be and let it do it's thing. Trying to re-start the GC while it's trying to update probably corrupted one or more of it's files.

Now, I know you've said that you've uninstalled/re-installed the game and/or GC. But, maybe you could try re-downloading the game to a different folder (My guess is that you currently have it at "C" (or whatever drive your OS is running on) ":\Games\World_of_Tanks").

So, create a new folder (call it whatever you want, but my suggestion would be "GamesWoT" so it's close to your original folder) on your "C-drive"(or whatever drive your OS is on). Download and install the game to THAT new folder, **but DO NOT run/start the game or GC from the install process. Once installed, restart your computer.

After the computer has restarted, navigate to the "GamesWot\World_of_Tanks" folder (again, the first folder will be whatever you called). Once there, double-click the "WoTLauncher.exe" file (the ".exe" might not be displayed depending on file-view settings). That should start the newly downloaded GC.

Make sure you give it "firewall" access.

And, if asked for the location of the WoT game, point it towards the folder you just started the GC from.

Hope that works for you. If it doesn't, contact Customer Support and let them know that you tried starting the GC while it was still in the process of updating. They may have a quick and easy fix for that.

I let GC do it's install, it just never started back up once it was done. I started it after about 2 hours, since I had something to do.

GC is installed on C:, and tanks and tanks EU are on D:, but that doesn't seem to be the issue. The UI in GC isn't even showing up.

Tanks works, just not GC



Silversmyth #19 Posted Aug 24 2019 - 02:00

    Private

  • Players
  • 27871 battles
  • 1
  • [BYOBG] BYOBG
  • Member since:
    02-08-2011
Anyone figure out the black screen issue or have an idea. I have already uninstalled game with revouninstaller, reinstalled game, did integrity check. I have done everything twice.

PrisonerOfGravity #20 Posted Aug 25 2019 - 13:07

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 11761 battles
  • 114
  • Member since:
    09-17-2011

Having the same problem here. Have uninstalled all WG games, as well as the Game Center. Then I tried to download WOT again. I get as far as the install for Game Center,..and then I get the black rectangle. And then nothing...

Ive updated Adobe, Java, checked Explorer, updated Windows,...and still having issues. No other problems on my rig. Its just WOT!!






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users