Jump to content


How do you get the 64 Bit executable to be default?

64Bit Win64 Win32

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

stealthesw #1 Posted Oct 11 2019 - 01:03

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 13117 battles
  • 55
  • [CDEV] CDEV
  • Member since:
    10-27-2015

I have not figured out how to get the 64 bit executable to be the default when using the WOT Launcher. Instead the game always uses the WorldOfTanks.exe file in the World_of_Tanks/Win32 folder. I want to use the WorldOfTanks.exe in the World_of_Tanks/Win64 folder.

 

Is there any chance to add an option in the launcher to make the .exe (Win32 or Win64) file for the game selectable?



GenPanzer #2 Posted Oct 11 2019 - 01:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 44833 battles
  • 3,750
  • [EFFIT] EFFIT
  • Member since:
    08-15-2011
Have you even tried to launch the 64 bit version of the worldoftanks.exe? Does it work? Does it revert to 32 bit?

An_old_slow_guy #3 Posted Oct 11 2019 - 02:08

    Captain

  • Players
  • 62763 battles
  • 1,244
  • [ELVIS] ELVIS
  • Member since:
    08-10-2012
I have tried to launch the 64 bit version, the game loaded - got to the garage and started a battle.  Once the battle started however I had no control over my vehicle, had to completely shut down and restart my computer to load the 32 bit version and resume the battle.  The actual battle screen in 64bit mode actually was a lot sharper, more clearly defined - don't know if it was mods I had loaded that caused  the malfunction or not. Just know it didn't work.  Maybe someday I will experiment w/64bit mode without mods.  Unsure why it's even there if it isn't ever loaded. Be nice to get some sort of info on running 64bit mode. 

MudShark92553 #4 Posted Oct 11 2019 - 02:27

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 8321 battles
  • 159
  • Member since:
    01-15-2019

I used the 64-bit version, it ran fine and was sharper. Also, the Wargaming center is not needed. I never knew to look

 



Bosch_3 #5 Posted Oct 11 2019 - 04:51

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 2610 battles
  • 54
  • [FUBU] FUBU
  • Member since:
    09-24-2018
Could the 32 bit be for the SD version and the 64 bit is for the HD version?

____Jayden #6 Posted Oct 11 2019 - 05:31

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 52230 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    03-03-2011

View PostBosch_3, on Oct 11 2019 - 13:51, said:

Could the 32 bit be for the SD version and the 64 bit is for the HD version?

No.... Jesus christ.. That's the client. Not his computer.



stealthesw #7 Posted Oct 13 2019 - 08:34

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 13117 battles
  • 55
  • [CDEV] CDEV
  • Member since:
    10-27-2015

View PostBosch_3, on Oct 11 2019 - 04:51, said:

Could the 32 bit be for the SD version and the 64 bit is for the HD version?


No. The SD or HD option is not dependent on the version of the .exe file. By default when you use the launcher the version of the game that starts is the 32 bit version. There is a 64 bit version but you have to create a desktop icon to execute the file or start it directly from the World_of_Tanks/win64 folder. The 64 bit .exe does allow the game to use more of the system ram (approx. 250MB to 500MB from my observation). Also, the file size for the 64 bit version of the executable is a different file size when compared to the 32bit executable.

 

I run the HD version of the game when I play and have checked the file that is started when using the supplied launcher, it is the 32 bit executable. So, I can say for sure that selecting SD or HD has no effect on the executable that is used when starting the game. You can verify this by using the Task Manager while the game is running and viewing the active files under the Processes tab, you will see it says World of Tanks (32 bit). If you start the game using the .exe file in the World_of_Tanks/win64 folder you will see the game listed in the Processes tab as World of Tanks. Notice the absents of the (32 bit) tag. And for those wondering, Yes I am running a verified 64 bit version of Windows 10 Pro. 


Edited by stealthesw, Oct 13 2019 - 08:36.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users