Jump to content


Stop with the resource hogging


9 replies to this topic

chickdan #1 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 04:21

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 631 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    07-07-2015

I've used DOZENS of game launchers and not a single one has ever used 30% of my CPU. Not even the standalone WoTs or WoWs launchers. So why does WGC need 30%?

 

Note: I have turned off the option to "use all resources" when updating.


Edited by chickdan, Oct 22 2019 - 05:01.


tod914 #2 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 04:41

    Major

  • Players
  • 64940 battles
  • 6,819
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

There are some threads on which process' you can kill and how to start it without the gamingcenter.

Spoiler

 


Edited by tod914, Oct 22 2019 - 04:46.


_Tsavo_ #3 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 04:42

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 46537 battles
  • 19,882
  • [RELIC] RELIC
  • Member since:
    02-16-2011

View Postchickdan, on Oct 21 2019 - 22:21, said:

I've used DOZENS of game launchers and not a single one has ever used 30% of my CPU. Not even the standalone WoTs or WoWs launchers. So why does WGC need 30%?


What CPU are you using?  I'm on a 5820k and it's barely even using anything, like maybe 1-2%



chickdan #4 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 05:00

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 631 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    07-07-2015

View Post_Tsavo_, on Oct 22 2019 - 04:42, said:


What CPU are you using?  I'm on a 5820k and it's barely even using anything, like maybe 1-2%


i7-4970, it's still a great CPU and doesn't really struggle with anything.



Bavor #5 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 05:07

    Major

  • Players
  • 34417 battles
  • 3,231
  • [REL-A] REL-A
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View Postchickdan, on Oct 21 2019 - 22:21, said:

I've used DOZENS of game launchers and not a single one has ever used 30% of my CPU. Not even the standalone WoTs or WoWs launchers. So why does WGC need 30%?

 

Note: I have turned off the option to "use all resources" when updating.

 

I have an old spare computer here with an i3-3240 and GTX 750ti.  The Wargaming Game Center Launcher doesn't use 30% of my CPU on that system.  I think your computer has other issues.



dave_292 #6 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 10:19

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 29055 battles
  • 580
  • [SBW] SBW
  • Member since:
    04-19-2016
My game center is using .3 right now. Are you downloading or updating something?

Lucid_Nonsense_1 #7 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 12:18

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 7595 battles
  • 343
  • [4RENB] 4RENB
  • Member since:
    05-22-2018
Ryzen 7 here, that app uses so few resources it's lost in the noise. If it's using 30% of a CPU when idle, you have other issues. I guess, non-HT quadcores might get spikes, if your computer is low on memory and it's swapping out inactive apps.

Edited by Lucid_Nonsense_1, Oct 22 2019 - 12:18.


tod914 #8 Posted Oct 22 2019 - 16:32

    Major

  • Players
  • 64940 battles
  • 6,819
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

 

Bring up your Task Manager (Ctrl + Alt + Del) and kill the process' I have outlined in red after your logged into the game.  See what your performance is then.  It should be much better.

 

Spoiler

 


Edited by tod914, Oct 22 2019 - 17:45.


Hezekial #9 Posted Oct 23 2019 - 23:33

    Private

  • Players
  • 8 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    09-28-2013

Does anyone know why we have to have the Game Centre?

 

Is it like Discord that is recording your application that are running so they can sell it to third parties?

I do not like this, it tries to down load when I am playing games, both this one and others.

It causes the game to studder and lag.

 

I want an option of running WoTs without the game centre thank you.

 

With 41,000 games on the sea server and 12,000 games on the NA WoWs account, please do not think the game count here tells the whole story



RingoMcHarrison #10 Posted Oct 24 2019 - 03:50

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 36736 battles
  • 5,299
  • Member since:
    11-22-2010

Start game and log in. Once in garage, ALT+TAB to desktop, right click game center icon -> Exit.

 

Come on. It's not rocket science.





Reply to this topic



  
For security reasons, please do not provide your personal data or the personal data of a third party here because we might be unable to protect such data in accordance with the Wargaming Privacy Policy.


2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users