Jump to content


You do know your router is dropping packets during prime time right?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

latvius #1 Posted Dec 04 2019 - 23:38

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 35243 battles
  • 538
  • [FINES] FINES
  • Member since:
    11-26-2013

Your router chi-b21-link.telia.net starts dumping packets about 1630 CST, started with ranked, then FL, now everyday with Christmas coming.  Either whoever is monitoring your infrastructure is incompetent or it is a money issue.  Either way please fix it!  Either pay your provider for more capacity or look at the freaking logs!!

 

I have to switch to the SA server during these times, it has higher ping but at least my tank is not blipping all over the place.



__WarChild__ #2 Posted Dec 04 2019 - 23:57

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 34058 battles
  • 6,363
  • [OPIC] OPIC
  • Member since:
    06-03-2017

View Postlatvius, on Dec 04 2019 - 16:38, said:

Your router chi-b21-link.telia.net starts dumping packets about 1630 CST, started with ranked, then FL, now everyday with Christmas coming.  Either whoever is monitoring your infrastructure is incompetent or it is a money issue.  Either way please fix it!  Either pay your provider for more capacity or look at the freaking logs!!

 

I have to switch to the SA server during these times, it has higher ping but at least my tank is not blipping all over the place.

 

+1 but also reported for hacking into WG's servers.  



Atragon #3 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 00:18

    Major

  • Players
  • 44511 battles
  • 5,109
  • [FINES] FINES
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012

View Postlatvius, on Dec 04 2019 - 17:38, said:

Your router chi-b21-link.telia.net starts dumping packets about 1630 CST, started with ranked, then FL, now everyday with Christmas coming.  Either whoever is monitoring your infrastructure is incompetent or it is a money issue.  Either way please fix it!  Either pay your provider for more capacity or look at the freaking logs!!

 

I have to switch to the SA server during these times, it has higher ping but at least my tank is not blipping all over the place.

Packets ?????? More like crates!!!!!!!!!!!



Insanefriend #4 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 00:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 47646 battles
  • 2,069
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012
chi-b21-link.telia.net Isn't owned or operated by Wargamming.  They are a backbone provider for more local ISP or really big businesses.  Wargamming cannot do anything to fix it other then lodge a complaint with their Isp, same as you would.

HOTA_CHATON #5 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 01:16

    Major

  • Players
  • 13761 battles
  • 15,148
  • [PPSAG] PPSAG
  • Member since:
    09-28-2011

View PostAtragon, on Dec 04 2019 - 17:18, said:

Packets ?????? More like crates!!!!!!!!!!!


More like metric butt tons last night.



latvius #6 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 02:27

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 35243 battles
  • 538
  • [FINES] FINES
  • Member since:
    11-26-2013

View PostInsanefriend, on Dec 05 2019 - 00:57, said:

chi-b21-link.telia.net Isn't owned or operated by Wargamming.  They are a backbone provider for more local ISP or really big businesses.  Wargamming cannot do anything to fix it other then lodge a complaint with their Isp, same as you would.

WG leases the link from them so WG can do something about it.  Telia doesn't offer their services for free, you pay them for a connection with an agreed upon speed.  If you are not getting the speed you paid for you complain.  

 

 

 


Edited by latvius, Dec 05 2019 - 02:43.


LeaveIT2Beaver #7 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 02:52

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 37542 battles
  • 10,038
  • [J4F] J4F
  • Member since:
    07-04-2014

999+ ping.  Lag. Crashes. Can't play - wallet dried up.



Insanefriend #8 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 03:37

    Major

  • Players
  • 47646 battles
  • 2,069
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View Postlatvius, on Dec 04 2019 - 19:27, said:

WG leases the link from them so WG can do something about it.  Telia doesn't offer their services for free, you pay them for a connection with an agreed upon speed.  If you are not getting the speed you paid for you complain.  

 

Wargamming doesn't lease a connection from Telia, heck I get no hops that go through a Telia node from my house.  I tried every ip that World of tanks connects to and I don't get any Telia hops.  It's the server hosting provider that they contract with if anything that contracts with Telia.  More likely what ever ISP you have has a peering agreement with Telia.


Edited by Insanefriend, Dec 05 2019 - 03:38.


latvius #9 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 15:16

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 35243 battles
  • 538
  • [FINES] FINES
  • Member since:
    11-26-2013

View PostInsanefriend, on Dec 05 2019 - 03:37, said:

 

Wargamming doesn't lease a connection from Telia, heck I get no hops that go through a Telia node from my house.  I tried every ip that World of tanks connects to and I don't get any Telia hops.  It's the server hosting provider that they contract with if anything that contracts with Telia.  More likely what ever ISP you have has a peering agreement with Telia.

Holy nobody cares syndrome.  I do not know WG's infrastructure but based on the 2nd sticky of this error reporting forum (go read it) yes they lease thru Telia.  "every IP"?? Their is one IP for the NA server.  Telia is the last router before I hit WG server.  Maybe based on your location you go thru a different router leased by WG.  I don't know I don't care.

Server hosting provider?  Now you assume they are renting servers, again I don't know I don't care.

The ISP I have has nothing to do with it, Telia router is the 11th router in the chain, but again I do know but I don't care.

I am simply trying to get WG's attention to the problem and hopefully get others to chime in so they do something about it. 

 

Why are you trying to have a discussion about the details of WG servers and connections when neither of us know the exact details and even if we did who cares?  It's like arguing over where at&t's cell towers are, I don't care I just want service!



DomoSapien #10 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 17:48

    Community Coordinator

  • -Players-
  • 14991 battles
  • 1,243
  • [WGA] WGA
  • Member since:
    12-28-2012

View Postlatvius, on Dec 05 2019 - 08:16, said:

Holy nobody cares syndrome.  I do not know WG's infrastructure but based on the 2nd sticky of this error reporting forum (go read it) yes they lease thru Telia.

 

I closed that thread because it's from 2014 and completely irrelevant in 2019. We migrated to the US Central server well after 2014 when that thread was posted.

Granted, the thread definitely shouldn't have been stickied to the top of the support forum anymore so really it's our bad for not taking that down sooner. Which hop # is your telia hop occurring at? Is it within the first 3 or last 3 hops of the connection? 



latvius #11 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 22:28

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 35243 battles
  • 538
  • [FINES] FINES
  • Member since:
    11-26-2013

View PostDomoSapien, on Dec 05 2019 - 17:48, said:

I closed that thread because it's from 2014 and completely irrelevant in 2019. We migrated to the US Central server well after 2014 when that thread was posted.

Granted, the thread definitely shouldn't have been stickied to the top of the support forum anymore so really it's our bad for not taking that down sooner. Which hop # is your telia hop occurring at? Is it within the first 3 or last 3 hops of the connection? 

Telia is the 4th hop before the NA server, for some reason I thought it was right before the server.  Sorry was going off memory...

 

Problem is starting earlier the closer Christmas comes.  Now it is 1530 CST.

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   5dec.JPG   42.13K

Edited by latvius, Dec 05 2019 - 22:58.


Da_Craw #12 Posted Dec 05 2019 - 22:51

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 28148 battles
  • 3,337
  • Member since:
    05-30-2014

View Postlatvius, on Dec 05 2019 - 08:16, said:

  It's like arguing over where at&t's cell towers are, I don't care I just want service!

The point is that you are complaining about Telia.  WG has no relationship with Telia, so exactly what is it you expect them to do about Telia dropping packets?  They already severed ties with Telia.  (They probably didn't move the servers to Chicago just to get out of a Telia contract.)  "Telia!  Fix your routers or we will totally not use your services even harder than we are totally not using them now!"  It's like blaming the cabbie for the condition of the only road that goes where you need to go.  It just ain't his fault.


Edited by Da_Craw, Dec 05 2019 - 22:53.


LeaveIT2Beaver #13 Posted Dec 06 2019 - 02:02

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 37542 battles
  • 10,038
  • [J4F] J4F
  • Member since:
    07-04-2014
Game is unplayable

__WarChild__ #14 Posted Dec 06 2019 - 03:38

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 34058 battles
  • 6,363
  • [OPIC] OPIC
  • Member since:
    06-03-2017
I'm having the weirdest craziest lag issues that I never get.  

latvius #15 Posted Dec 06 2019 - 16:47

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 35243 battles
  • 538
  • [FINES] FINES
  • Member since:
    11-26-2013

View Post__WarChild__, on Dec 06 2019 - 03:38, said:

I'm having the weirdest craziest lag issues that I never get.  

Yeah for me this all started when ranked came online right at prime time, luckily I can go to the SA server and still play.  I used to accidentally go to the SA server when I had auto select enabled.  I mention that because I notice a whole lot more English speaking players are on SA now than their used to be when I accidentally went there months ago.  Not scientific but often troubleshooting goes a long way with plain ole common sense.

 



HOTA_CHATON #16 Posted Dec 06 2019 - 21:03

    Major

  • Players
  • 13761 battles
  • 15,148
  • [PPSAG] PPSAG
  • Member since:
    09-28-2011
It's worse than I can remember, in a very long time and that was when we all found out that Telia.net was the culprit, years ago.  I am playing the last few night and literally watching my tank(s) jump from place to place even though I have great FPS & MS.  Come on, something has to give and soon guys.  This is ridiculousness beyond question.

PuddleSplasher #17 Posted Dec 06 2019 - 21:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 39699 battles
  • 3,234
  • Member since:
    07-11-2011

View PostDomoSapien, on Dec 05 2019 - 16:48, said:

I closed that thread because it's from 2014 and completely irrelevant in 2019.

 

We migrated to the US Central server well after 2014 when that thread was posted.
 

Granted, the thread definitely shouldn't have been stickied to the top of the support forum anymore so really it's our bad (Fault) for not taking that down sooner.



Insanefriend #18 Posted Dec 07 2019 - 04:51

    Major

  • Players
  • 47646 battles
  • 2,069
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View Postlatvius, on Dec 05 2019 - 08:16, said:

Holy nobody cares syndrome.  I do not know WG's infrastructure but based on the 2nd sticky of this error reporting forum (go read it) yes they lease thru Telia.  "every IP"?? Their is one IP for the NA server.  Telia is the last router before I hit WG server.  Maybe based on your location you go thru a different router leased by WG.  I don't know I don't care.

Server hosting provider?  Now you assume they are renting servers, again I don't know I don't care.

The ISP I have has nothing to do with it, Telia router is the 11th router in the chain, but again I do know but I don't care.

I am simply trying to get WG's attention to the problem and hopefully get others to chime in so they do something about it. 

 

Why are you trying to have a discussion about the details of WG servers and connections when neither of us know the exact details and even if we did who cares?  It's like arguing over where at&t's cell towers are, I don't care I just want service!

 

There is more then one ip for the NA server, the login server is located in Chicago area but if you watch what ip addresses the game connects to while running there are more then one.  I'm using the windows resource monitor to watch what Worldoftanks.exe generates for network traffic.  It connects to like five ip at startup, then settles down to one or two.  One I am sure is the web server they use for that little in game ad that pops up in the lower left.

 

Mostly the game connects to ip in the range of 92.223.56.something (seems to be the ip range for data center in Chicago) and 162.213.62.something (A data center in California).  Which the game server runs on is past me as the Chicago one is where the game seems to send all it's packets but it receives packets from the California address as well in a match.  Going off in game ping the Chicago address seems the more likely for the game server, but I get a pretty low ping to either.



Tolos #19 Posted Dec 07 2019 - 06:59

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 25997 battles
  • 18,843
  • [GDF] GDF
  • Member since:
    09-22-2010
Telia has been a issue for years. WG know about it, but won't do anything about it and never will

OlTanker #20 Posted Dec 07 2019 - 16:03

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 23203 battles
  • 475
  • Member since:
    01-17-2016
It drops packets during non prime time as well such as during the day time with 7 to 8k of players online.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users