Jump to content


Just updated to Win 10, game won't launch

win 10

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

iDestroya #1 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 05:38

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

Updated to Win10. Game won't launch. 

So I went through the "check and repair" in WGC. Everything's fine. Game won't launch. 

Uninstalled and re-installed the game. Still won't work. 

Updated the graphics drivers. Won't work. 

Went to directories and have it run in compatibility mode. Won't launch. 

I checked and made sure all WG programs had permission through the firewall. 

Then I went through this trouble list: 

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/18990/

 

A few of the MS software links in there just don't work anymore, but the ones that work, installed them.  

The game still won't launch.  

 

So I'm stuck. 

 

 


Edited by iDestroya, Jan 15 2020 - 05:53.


Anublister #2 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 05:47

    Captain

  • Players
  • 70660 battles
  • 1,197
  • [--T--] --T--
  • Member since:
    05-26-2013
I've played on Win10 since Win10 came out, no prob.

bad_73 #3 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 07:04

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 1574 battles
  • 629
  • Member since:
    03-16-2019
Sometimes the updates mean you have to give wot permissions again in firewalls and such.

Pipinghot #4 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 09:07

    Major

  • Players
  • 25960 battles
  • 10,768
  • [IOC] IOC
  • Member since:
    11-20-2011

View PostiDestroya, on Jan 14 2020 - 23:38, said:

So I'm stuck.

Sorry mate, don't know what to tell you. I've updated 5 machines to Windows 10 and all of them were able to play WoT both before and after the update.



PuddleSplasher #5 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 12:59

    Major

  • Players
  • 40051 battles
  • 3,357
  • Member since:
    07-11-2011

Windows 10 is running fine here.

 

Just a thought and I am no techno geek but are there 2 versions of Win 10 ie a 32bit and 64bit? Could one of them be non comaptible with WOT?

 

However Google (and the search function works in here) threw up this as the first hitby a player called Silent_Hunter:

 

"Guys, i have solved the problem!

For those who face this problem, go to options>compatibility settings of the launcher and check the "Disable Full screen optimization" box."

 

http://forum.worldof...reators-update/



KiltedAmerican #6 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 14:58

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    01-12-2020

View PostPipinghot, on Jan 15 2020 - 03:07, said:

Sorry mate, don't know what to tell you. I've updated 5 machines to Windows 10 and all of them were able to play WoT both before and after the update.

I'm thinking about upgrading to Win10 from Win8.

I've heard that the upgrade is "free".

What should I expect?



Suicidal_Enemy #7 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 15:10

    Captain

  • Players
  • 50079 battles
  • 1,661
  • Member since:
    12-01-2013

View PostKiltedAmerican, on Jan 15 2020 - 09:58, said:

I'm thinking about upgrading to Win10 from Win8.

I've heard that the upgrade is "free".

What should I expect?


I had nothing but problems when I upgraded from Win8, but when I bought my new computer with Win10 already installed it worked perfect.



Prayton007 #8 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 15:37

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 22331 battles
  • 180
  • [RTL] RTL
  • Member since:
    03-15-2017
only thing I can tell you, is to make sure that wins 10 is fully updated.  just because you updated to 10 does not mean it is the latest version. 

iDestroya #9 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 18:10

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

View Postbad_73, on Jan 15 2020 - 01:04, said:

Sometimes the updates mean you have to give wot permissions again in firewalls and such.

 

Yup, all of that was checked before I ran.  

 

View PostPuddleSplasher, on Jan 15 2020 - 06:59, said:

Windows 10 is running fine here.

 

Just a thought and I am no techno geek but are there 2 versions of Win 10 ie a 32bit and 64bit? Could one of them be non comaptible with WOT?

 

However Google (and the search function works in here) threw up this as the first hitby a player called Silent_Hunter:

 

"Guys, i have solved the problem!

For those who face this problem, go to options>compatibility settings of the launcher and check the "Disable Full screen optimization" box."

 

http://forum.worldof...reators-update/

 

Thanks. Tried that, and disabling the game bar as suggested in that thread. Still not working.  



iDestroya #10 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 19:58

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

Steam games working. WOT not. 

I wonder if it's because WG is using some old versions of visual basic that Win10 removed when it updated. I noticed that Win10 removed outdated programs and tools from my pc and laptop when I upgraded. Still the re-install should have installed those back in I would assume.



Pink_Unicorn_Alpha #11 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 21:18

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 18906 battles
  • 143
  • [E-N-D] E-N-D
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
did u upgrade or clean install?

iDestroya #12 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 23:00

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

View PostPink_Unicorn_Alpha, on Jan 15 2020 - 15:18, said:

did u upgrade or clean install?

upgrade



Pipinghot #13 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 23:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 25960 battles
  • 10,768
  • [IOC] IOC
  • Member since:
    11-20-2011

View PostKiltedAmerican, on Jan 15 2020 - 08:58, said:

View PostPipinghot, on Jan 15 2020 - 03:07, said:

Sorry mate, don't know what to tell you. I've updated 5 machines to Windows 10 and all of them were able to play WoT both before and after the update.

I'm thinking about upgrading to Win10 from Win8.

I've heard that the upgrade is "free".

What should I expect?

Well, you should expect that it will be effortless and easy, or horrible and labor intensive. I know that sounds like a slightly mean-spirited joke, but it's true. As I said before I've upgraded 5 machines to Win10, but they were all from Win7 to Win10 an I've only had one problem that I truly had to troubleshoot (I had to roll-back an update on one of my Win7 machines and then re-do the upgrade).

 

I've never touched Win8 (intentionally, I've stayed as far away from it as possible) but from what I've read the upgrade from Win8 to Win10 is more likely to have problems than the upgrade from Win7 to Win10.

 

My advice would be to find a couple of good guides (I'm betting that howtogeek has a good one, for starters) that are specifically focused on Win8-to-Win10, read at least two different guides from sources that you trust, and make sure that you have a second computer available so that you can have the guides up on your screen and be able to do some googling during your upgrade process. There is a pretty good chance that the upgrade will go smoothly and behave exactly as expected, but since you're going from Win8 to Win10 I would definitely spend some time preparing and studying before you do the upgrade.


Edited by Pipinghot, Jan 16 2020 - 01:29.


iDestroya #14 Posted Jan 15 2020 - 23:46

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

View PostPipinghot, on Jan 15 2020 - 17:04, said:

Well, you should expect that it will be effortless and easy, or horrible and labor intensive. I know that sounds like a slightly mean-spirited joke, but it's true. As I said before I've upgraded 5 machines to Win10, but they were all from Win7 to Win10 an I've only had one problem that I truly had to troubleshoot (I had to roll-back an update on one of my Win7 machines and then re-do the upgrade).

 

I've never touched Win8 (intentionally, I've stayed as far away from it as possible) but from what I've read the upgrade from Win8 to Win10 is more likely to have problems than the upgrade from Win7 to Win10.

 

My advice would be to find a couple of good guides (I'm getting that howtogeek has a good one, for starters) that are specifically focused on Win8-to-Win10, read at least two different guides from sources that you trust, and make sure that you have a second computer available so that you can have the guides up on your screen and be able to do some googling during your upgrade process. There is a pretty good chance that the upgrade will go smoothly and behave exactly as expected, but since you're going from Win8 to Win10 I would definitely spend some time preparing and studying before you do the upgrade.

 

I upgraded from win7 home version. I'll check howtogeek and see if there are some things I can tweek. thanks.



iDestroya #15 Posted Jan 16 2020 - 06:23

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

SOLUTION BELOW:

 

So the strangest solution, from WG Tech support worked. Here's what you do:  

 

1) Change your monitor's display settings to either:    

 1024 х 768 or 1280 x 1024. 

2) launch game. If the game launch (it did), close the game, and re-set your monitor's display settings to whatever setting you want.   

 

That worked!    

 

I should add, I am running the game in compatibility mode for Windows 7. 


Edited by iDestroya, Jan 16 2020 - 07:13.


iDestroya #16 Posted Jan 16 2020 - 07:12

    Captain

  • Players
  • 56019 battles
  • 1,049
  • [LMAO] LMAO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

I got the following explanation from WG's tech support team:  

 

Block Quote

 It seems to be a bug of compatibility of Windows 10 (Redstone 3 and higher) and graphics drivers.

Should you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

 



Pipinghot #17 Posted Jan 16 2020 - 10:39

    Major

  • Players
  • 25960 battles
  • 10,768
  • [IOC] IOC
  • Member since:
    11-20-2011

View PostiDestroya, on Jan 16 2020 - 01:12, said:

I got the following explanation from WG's tech support team: 

Grats on getting a solution that worked, glad to hear it was a lot less work than going through the full troubleshooting list.

 



genegx #18 Posted Jan 16 2020 - 14:29

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5479 battles
  • 47
  • [ROTM] ROTM
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
Also make sure that you install all updates to Win 10. You should be on  version 1909, the November 2019 update.

Edited by genegx, Jan 16 2020 - 14:29.






Also tagged with win 10

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users