Jump to content


If you are having Lag/Packet Loss issues, come say Hi! Game is Literally unplayable right now.

lag packetloss packet loss connection USC Server Servers laggy

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

Joeychaotic #21 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 05:07

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 14291 battles
  • 10
  • [---TX] ---TX
  • Member since:
    10-24-2013
Yep same problems here. Completely unplayable.

GHR1227 #22 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 05:10

    Captain

  • Players
  • 53310 battles
  • 1,009
  • [TIGR] TIGR
  • Member since:
    07-08-2013

View PostChuny77, on Mar 03 2020 - 16:25, said:

Hi guys, just wanted to see how many of us have this problem, and if i should really contact my ISP (Of course not the same as the one you have) and tell them "Hey WG says their servers are fine, it's not their problem"

Maybe for some people in USA it's not so bad, but try to play this game on USC Server from south america, with 200+ ping and add packet loss to that.. Good luck hitting a single shot.

PingPlotter 3-3-2020.png

 

FYI. Turn your ping setting down from 1 second to 30 or 60.  Some servers do not like being pinged so often and will block or not respond and ping plotters reads  THAt as packet loss.   Not saying you don't have any but that one second plot is skewing some.

 



Chuny77 #23 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 05:19

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 26695 battles
  • 661
  • [Y0L0] Y0L0
  • Member since:
    11-14-2012

View PostGHR1227, on Mar 04 2020 - 01:10, said:

 

FYI. Turn your ping setting down from 1 second to 30 or 60.  Some servers do not like being pinged so often and will block or not respond and ping plotters reads  THAt as packet loss.   Not saying you don't have any but that one second plot is skewing some.

 


I get it, but that's how WG asks to set up PingPlotter on their Guide.

 

  1. Launch PingPlotter
  2. Write the name of the game server in [Enter target name or IP]
  3. Set [interval] to 1 second

 



GHR1227 #24 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 05:37

    Captain

  • Players
  • 53310 battles
  • 1,009
  • [TIGR] TIGR
  • Member since:
    07-08-2013

View PostChuny77, on Mar 03 2020 - 22:19, said:


I get it, but that's how WG asks to set up PingPlotter on their Guide.

 

  1. Launch PingPlotter
  2. Write the name of the game server in [Enter target name or IP]
  3. Set [interval] to 1 second

 

 

That might be what is written but it CAN introduce error when servers thing they are beng DDOS'd by a ping from same origination every one second. 

It makes the server logic begin to ignoring packets from that location and pingplotter reports packet loss like I said.

I read this somewhere on the internet about using ping plotter to track packetloss.   2.5 or 5 seconds is safer.

 

Regardless.  Here is Ping Plotter's guide to using their product:

https://www.pingplot...acket-loss.html

 

Block Quote

 

The final destination is most important

 

If the final hop is showing 0% packet loss and acceptable latency, you can ignore whatever you see in the hops leading up to it. In example 1, we see scary looking packet loss early in the route, but performance looks good at the final destination. We can ignore patterns like this.

A common cause of non-continuing packet loss is a router with low priority for timed out ICMP requests (ICMP requests where the TTL equals 0 after reaching them). Other possible causes for this are described in the PingPlotter Knowledge Base, but the most important takeaway here is this type of information does not indicate a problem.

 


Edited by GHR1227, Mar 04 2020 - 05:42.


SquishySupreme #25 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 06:06

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 4481 battles
  • 1,089
  • Member since:
    10-29-2018
This is not technically their server.  It is the rackspace provider being in south Chicago in an area of town that has ghetto-level infrastructure.  In the EU they are literally 1 hop from the main backbone into the local country.  In Chicago, it's a mess of whatever works that day to get there, and is always changing depending on where you are coming from and what construction is going on in the area.   

GHR1227 #26 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 06:21

    Captain

  • Players
  • 53310 battles
  • 1,009
  • [TIGR] TIGR
  • Member since:
    07-08-2013

View PostSquishySupreme, on Mar 03 2020 - 23:06, said:

This is not technically their server.  It is the rackspace provider being in south Chicago in an area of town that has ghetto-level infrastructure.  In the EU they are literally 1 hop from the main backbone into the local country.  In Chicago, it's a mess of whatever works that day to get there, and is always changing depending on where you are coming from and what construction is going on in the area.   

Truth.  HOW much bad weather is Illinois under right now?  We're about to have some big thunderbumpers here in Southeast Texas. (Houston).



dos_poptarts #27 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 18:34

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 15493 battles
  • 50
  • [ABRAM] ABRAM
  • Member since:
    07-09-2015
Tried to play two matches last night and yes nearly unplayable and I'm trying to grind credits. So my boosters went mostly unused. Loaded WOWS immediately after and no lag at all for a few hours. 

GHR1227 #28 Posted Mar 04 2020 - 22:48

    Captain

  • Players
  • 53310 battles
  • 1,009
  • [TIGR] TIGR
  • Member since:
    07-08-2013

I ran the WGcheck on WoT and network this morning and surprise, surprise no packet loss.

I'll try playing a match a bit later and hope the issue was resolved with the 1.8 update.

 

However, I'm not holding my breath.



SquishySupreme #29 Posted Mar 07 2020 - 00:20

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 4481 battles
  • 1,089
  • Member since:
    10-29-2018

We had this at one of my last jobs.  The 3rd party provider of the servers would screw up and also shave off resources to make more profit and when we complained every Monday morning, they would turn it back on - but only IF we complained first.  Basically your typical 2nd rate profit-only business model.  
ie: Friday, servers running at full throttle ( was a teaching institution ) - Monday morning, classes start, business opens - is still running like it is the weekend.  Despite us paying to keep it at full power/bandwidth 24/7/365.  I hear they have another few months left on the (multi-year) contract but are looking to ditch them the day it is up, as they simply never changed their behavior.

 


Edited by SquishySupreme, Mar 07 2020 - 00:20.


GHR1227 #30 Posted Mar 07 2020 - 01:39

    Captain

  • Players
  • 53310 battles
  • 1,009
  • [TIGR] TIGR
  • Member since:
    07-08-2013

Up to 60% packet loss only at Wargaming's server.  As of 640PM CST

Final hop is all that matters and is only server showing packet loss.

https://imgur.com/7eNjWq8

https://imgur.com/GOIrRUl

 


Edited by GHR1227, Mar 07 2020 - 01:40.


SKurj #31 Posted Mar 07 2020 - 14:36

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 16852 battles
  • 3,953
  • [FEELZ] FEELZ
  • Member since:
    09-05-2010

I experienced what appeared to be rubber banding and packet loss last night for a few games.  I shut the game down and game center, restarted and the issue went away.



Saffron_Blaze #32 Posted Mar 08 2020 - 07:05

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34219 battles
  • 307
  • Member since:
    09-23-2017
The ping spikes, for me at least, occur on both the NA and SA servers.

MM_Hater #33 Posted Mar 13 2020 - 20:34

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 41463 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    06-28-2014

Yeah, I have been having this lag issue as well over the last two months. they have changed something as my ping on the north American server used to be around 140 to 170 at times and the game was platable.

 

Now it's running at 200 too 250 and the game is un-playable as we all know. I have great internet speed and a gaming CPU that I spent a ton on. Wargaming has done something and just won't admit it.

My ping on the other hand on the South American server is around 50 to 70 and it's the best it's ever been. Maybe they are trying to filter us out of the N/A server.

That sucks as there are not enough players on it and modes like frontline and steel hunter become untouchable for all players on the S/A server.

RIP South American players.



SKurj #34 Posted Mar 13 2020 - 21:07

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 16852 battles
  • 3,953
  • [FEELZ] FEELZ
  • Member since:
    09-05-2010
FL is almost unplayable for me at the moment with packet loss and a ping thats 100 higher than I usually see in randoms (130+ in fl where it is usually 20-30 in randoms)





Also tagged with lag, packetloss, packet, loss, connection, USC, Server, Servers, laggy

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users