Jump to content


No Mods? Almost There!

Mods Modifications

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

Kliphie #21 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 19:17

    Major

  • Players
  • 38554 battles
  • 9,053
  • [GFLC] GFLC
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012

View Posticbrainy, on Mar 02 2021 - 11:57, said:

 

Really? Does it stop XVM from functioning properly?

 

XVM disables access to players who are anonymized.  



PTwr #22 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 20:28

    Major

  • Players
  • 51318 battles
  • 13,338
  • [BITSA] BITSA
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011

View Postblack_colt, on Mar 02 2021 - 17:59, said:

 

... 

IIRC [cannot find on the WG News page] all mods downloaded from the MOD HUB - World of Tanks will not subject you to sanction under the Fair Play rules.

Not exactly true for so called "modpacks" that are just a program that downloads mods from third party source. Especially ones with auto update. 

 

WG does not seem to validate every mod in such packs, and there were cases where gray-zone mods snuck into them. (last one that I heard about was free cam without replay-only lock)

While some mods are easy to distinguish as unsportsmanlike from just screenshot by anyone with more than two working brain cells, other can reside in gray-zone for years just to suddenly get branded as illegal.



CorporalUpham #23 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 20:33

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 22856 battles
  • 142
  • [FYYFF] FYYFF
  • Member since:
    03-07-2019
Just when I was going to congratulate WG for doing something right, I lost my tank after it was tracked and pressing the 4 key wouldn't use the repair kit. Maybe a modder can fix WG's long-standing, well-known bug.

SwollenOstrich #24 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 21:06

    Major

  • Players
  • 30350 battles
  • 2,911
  • Member since:
    02-28-2014

View PostCorporalUpham, on Mar 02 2021 - 13:33, said:

Just when I was going to congratulate WG for doing something right, I lost my tank after it was tracked and pressing the 4 key wouldn't use the repair kit. Maybe a modder can fix WG's long-standing, well-known bug.

I have been playing for 6-7 years and never seen that bug ...

 

Now, I had that problem in a battle just a couple of weeks ago, could not switch to "2" ammo or use any consumables ... only got to use premium ammo after all standard ammo was gone. 

 

Remembered that I had cleaned my keyboard earlier that day and I must have had a stuck key somewhere when I put them back ... which I fixed by tapping all the keyboard keys after that game, especially the "alt" and "ctrl" ones and the problem went away.

 

Can't blame WG for that.



Kani_Bist #25 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 21:25

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17224 battles
  • 1,261
  • [CRIMZ] CRIMZ
  • Member since:
    08-26-2018

View PostCorporalUpham, on Mar 02 2021 - 14:33, said:

Just when I was going to congratulate WG for doing something right, I lost my tank after it was tracked and pressing the 4 key wouldn't use the repair kit. Maybe a modder can fix WG's long-standing, well-known bug.


Wow first I ever heard of it...... I've EXPERIENCED it lol, but I always thought it was something on my end. Thanks.



Kani_Bist #26 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 21:28

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17224 battles
  • 1,261
  • [CRIMZ] CRIMZ
  • Member since:
    08-26-2018

View PostCorporalUpham, on Mar 02 2021 - 14:33, said:

Just when I was going to congratulate WG for doing something right, I lost my tank after it was tracked and pressing the 4 key wouldn't use the repair kit. Maybe a modder can fix WG's long-standing, well-known bug.

 

View PostSwollenOstrich, on Mar 02 2021 - 15:06, said:

I have been playing for 6-7 years and never seen that bug ...

 

Now, I had that problem in a battle just a couple of weeks ago, could not switch to "2" ammo or use any consumables ... only got to use premium ammo after all standard ammo was gone. 

 

Remembered that I had cleaned my keyboard earlier that day and I must have had a stuck key somewhere when I put them back ... which I fixed by tapping all the keyboard keys after that game, especially the "alt" and "ctrl" ones and the problem went away.

 

Can't blame WG for that.


So whos right lol? I figured the same as you Mr. Swollen.



churchill50 #27 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 21:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 22885 battles
  • 2,870
  • [5HTTR] 5HTTR
  • Member since:
    05-17-2014

View PostCorporalUpham, on Mar 02 2021 - 12:33, said:

Just when I was going to congratulate WG for doing something right, I lost my tank after it was tracked and pressing the 4 key wouldn't use the repair kit. Maybe a modder can fix WG's long-standing, well-known bug.

View PostSwollenOstrich, on Mar 02 2021 - 13:06, said:

I have been playing for 6-7 years and never seen that bug ...

 

Now, I had that problem in a battle just a couple of weeks ago, could not switch to "2" ammo or use any consumables ... only got to use premium ammo after all standard ammo was gone. 

 

Remembered that I had cleaned my keyboard earlier that day and I must have had a stuck key somewhere when I put them back ... which I fixed by tapping all the keyboard keys after that game, especially the "alt" and "ctrl" ones and the problem went away.

 

Can't blame WG for that.

View PostKani_Bist, on Mar 02 2021 - 13:25, said:


Wow first I ever heard of it...... I've EXPERIENCED it lol, but I always thought it was something on my end. Thanks.

 

 

That's a known bug. I and several of my friends have experienced it. The fix is to press the Alt key.

From what I've heard (although I don't know 100% if this is true) the issue is that the game thinks you're still tabbed out (from you hitting Alt-Tab to switch to a different window), so it doesn't like some inputs?

Pressing the Alt key has fixed it for me the few times it's happened. Hopefully it works for you guys as well if it should happen to you again!


Edited by churchill50, Mar 02 2021 - 21:55.


Koala_In_The_Rain #28 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 22:25

    Major

  • Players
  • 33012 battles
  • 8,972
  • [TER] TER
  • Member since:
    02-28-2016

View PostKani_Bist, on Mar 02 2021 - 09:58, said:


I don't know Divingduck or his carousel lol, I just use the vanilla XVM download from the XVM websites, not the other mod packs. They looked cool, but I'm kinda stupid and without someone to splain them to me I figured it was best to just leave them alone........

 

DD is a decent carousel mod - it puts a lot of those needed tank statistics right there in the icon, making it easier to keep track of what's going on with different vehicles.

 

Did stop using skins, though, since despite the high kewlness factor they also seemed to be crashing the game.

 

Big fan of the mod - might be part of XVM - that more readily groups vehicles up by the HP bar so you can see quickly how many heavies, mediums, etc.  IIRC Disciple13 mentioned that one as a "must have," and I agree.



RenamedUser_696969696969 #29 Posted Mar 02 2021 - 22:34

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 20 battles
  • 295
  • Member since:
    03-02-2021
They still need to incorporate the TD handbrake disable.

wc_nighthawk #30 Posted Mar 03 2021 - 00:20

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 33465 battles
  • 214
  • [23AEF] 23AEF
  • Member since:
    09-29-2013

View Posticbrainy, on Mar 02 2021 - 12:57, said:

 

Really? Does it stop XVM from functioning properly?

It prevents a user from being able to see your stats.  You show up as a blank or something.  So you've seen posts from other players boo hooing about the fact they can't make an accurate judgement on whether they can try to take someone on because they don't know if that player is good or not lol.  It's like in WoW when people needed that mod to let them know when a boss was going to perform a certain move instead of just playing the game and seeing the in-game cues for it and wiping because of it.  Personally, I think if it gets to the point you can't play the game, it's more a handicap then helpful.  Based on the number of posts I've seen about how anonymizer ruins the game, I'm going to keep mine on.  You never know when someone is going to be too timid to make a move, and it can result in a win for you ;)  


Edited by wc_nighthawk, Mar 03 2021 - 00:22.


CorporalUpham #31 Posted Mar 03 2021 - 01:26

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 22856 battles
  • 142
  • [FYYFF] FYYFF
  • Member since:
    03-07-2019

View PostKani_Bist, on Mar 02 2021 - 12:28, said:

 


So whos right lol? I figured the same as you Mr. Swollen.

 

Today's YouTube video from skill4ltu shows him not being able to press 2 for gold ammo.



Kilo_Bravo_346 #32 Posted Mar 09 2021 - 08:08

    Private

  • Players
  • 5574 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    10-25-2014

<deleted the question>

OBE....found my answer. :-)


Edited by Kilo_Bravo_346, Mar 09 2021 - 08:18.


MrFx85 #33 Posted Mar 09 2021 - 14:40

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5904 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    07-10-2016
The only mods I would like to see in-game are zoom out and better stats analysis (moe %/ per battle / tank).





Also tagged with Mods, Modifications

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users