Jump to content


How can i make WOT run faster?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
32 replies to this topic

area86 #1 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 02:30

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4629 battles
  • 95
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
I have a 5 month old hp pavilion slimline with 3 gb of ram and AMD Athlon 2 250 dual core proccesor clocked at 3.01 ghz and i dont know how to make it run faster, i usually run at around 17 to 22 fps and i dont like it very much. what should i do?

PwntUpRage #2 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 02:32

    Major

  • Players
  • 10418 battles
  • 2,520
  • [-PACK] -PACK
  • Member since:
    03-19-2011
Buy a T2 light...

hailene2092 #3 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 02:34

    Major

  • Players
  • 13062 battles
  • 2,469
  • Member since:
    05-29-2011
What's your video card?  That's generally the main weakness of most laptops.

Also do everything you can in this thread:

http://forum.worldof...-pack-and-more/

That should help.

PwntUpRage #4 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 02:34

    Major

  • Players
  • 10418 battles
  • 2,520
  • [-PACK] -PACK
  • Member since:
    03-19-2011
What are your video settings at?

JuStDaN #5 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 02:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 6414 battles
  • 437
  • Member since:
    11-18-2010
Upgrade your graphic drivers to the latest, turn off post processing effects and play with some of the other settings!

SpruceMoosey #6 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 02:40

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 6968 battles
  • 643
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011
Try Gamebooster : http://www.iobit.com...r.html    Handy little proggy that shuts down a lot of services so your computer has more memory to play Tanks.

Also came across this yesterday, Might help you to improve your FPS a bit:

http://drongo-lab.ru/archives/16364
Get the english version, lol.

That's 2 very easy things to try.

Sprucey

ZombieFlanders #7 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 03:17

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 11324 battles
  • 2,987
  • Member since:
    09-29-2010
dont bother with gamebooster...useless crap. your system would have to be bursting with bloatware/spyware/viruses for it to do anything noticeable, plus it may do more harm than good.  

minsons  low res texture pack and the other tweaks listed can help, and make sure that all settings are low.  make sure especially that AA, AF and Vsync are disabled in-game and in your graphics settings.  the game wont look too good, but if you can get your min FPS to the mid 20s it would be much better.

my experiences with gaming on laptops are generally bad...unless you spent a ton on a gaming one.  the onboard video is generally very poor at running games (its more geared towards accelerating HD video etc).

inphinity #8 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 03:20

    Captain

  • Players
  • 5202 battles
  • 1,323
  • Member since:
    07-19-2011
Turn down the settings or get a better computer.

Orion03 #9 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 06:39

    Captain

  • Players
  • 9516 battles
  • 1,770
  • Member since:
    08-17-2011
read this:  http://forum.worldoftanks.com/index.php?/topic/48092-millbarges-guide-to-higher-fps/

SpruceMoosey #10 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 06:54

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 6968 battles
  • 643
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011

View PostZombieFlanders, on Oct 21 2011 - 03:17, said:

dont bother with gamebooster...useless crap. your system would have to be bursting with bloatware/spyware/viruses for it to do anything noticeable, plus it may do more harm than good.  

minsons  low res texture pack and the other tweaks listed can help, and make sure that all settings are low.  make sure especially that AA, AF and Vsync are disabled in-game and in your graphics settings.  the game wont look too good, but if you can get your min FPS to the mid 20s it would be much better.

my experiences with gaming on laptops are generally bad...unless you spent a ton on a gaming one.  the onboard video is generally very poor at running games (its more geared towards accelerating HD video etc).


Mate, I gave him 2 ideas that DOO work, especially gamebooster for his PC.  Hes got 3gb ram for a start, he needs every bit of memory he can get.


How can it make things worse?    Even for a computer EXPERT it doesn't make things worse.




You need to cater your answers to the OP, do you think he is going to have any idea about what you are telling him to do?

Short answer, no.




I stand by my post being the 1st 2 things you shuld do, rather than get into the crap this guy is saying that will probably not help your PC one iota.

JuStDaN #11 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 06:59

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 6414 battles
  • 437
  • Member since:
    11-18-2010
Don't install bloatware... ie. Gamebooster

Beta_Orion #12 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 14:04

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 6614 battles
  • 398
  • [LEAP] LEAP
  • Member since:
    04-10-2011
That system has an integrated AMD 3000 video unit on it... aka sucks for gaming!
The other HP Slimline's to my knowledge have a pci express slot on the main board for a graphic card update...  just pop the side off, and look to see if you have an open socket about 4" long that lines up with one of the back plates.  A card like this, MSI R6570-MD2GD3/LP Radeon HD 6570 2GB, should fit in there as it has a low profile plate replacement that comes with it.  This card runs about $80 @ newegg.com with free shipping, and will run circles around that on-board piece of junk.  I'll assume that you are running Win7 32bit since the system has 3GB of memory installed so unfortunately getting more memory won't really be of any help since the 32bit version won't access anything over 3GB anyway.

Nichts #13 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 14:22

    Major

  • Players
  • 20105 battles
  • 2,913
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011
Turn off tracks and shadows.

Of all the changes you can quickly make, these two will impact you the least while giving you the most improvement. You don't end up noticing them missing, but because they're not being rendered, they speed up the processing time everything else takes. That results in higher FPS.

Also look into toning down some of the terrain graphics settings. Water is one that you won't notice much either, but it'll help out on quite a few maps. Turning off Anti-Alias, Post Processing, and Advanced Post Processing also helps.

SeanPwnery #14 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 15:32

    Major

  • Veteran Testers
  • 25604 battles
  • 7,573
  • Member since:
    08-27-2011
Being a Slimline, you're kind-of screwed. It's your GPU, almost no doubt about it, and "low-profile" video cards aren't the best for gaming.

Ultimately, you really need a different machine. Stop buying store-bought crap if you can avoid it, and build your own like the vast majority of hardcore gamers !

Edit :

If it's any consolation, I recently upgraded my GTX260SSC with a GTX-570SSC and the framerate didn't change at all with my i7 920 and Ga-G1-Sniper mobo and 24 gig of ram setup.

ZombieFlanders #15 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 22:07

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 11324 battles
  • 2,987
  • Member since:
    09-29-2010

View Postschmotto, on Oct 21 2011 - 06:54, said:

Mate, I gave him 2 ideas that DOO work, especially gamebooster for his PC.  Hes got 3gb ram for a start, he needs every bit of memory he can get.


How can it make things worse?    Even for a computer EXPERT it doesn't make things worse.




You need to cater your answers to the OP, do you think he is going to have any idea about what you are telling him to do?

Short answer, no.




I stand by my post being the 1st 2 things you shuld do, rather than get into the crap this guy is saying that will probably not help your PC one iota.

look, gamebooster is crap.  sure, it frees up some space in your ram by shutting down non-essential stuff, but its not going to raise FPS much since the game doesnt use that much ram to begin with.  i have 4gb on W7 64 and the game uses about 1.3gb while in a match.  my AV, FW and essential stuff usues about 1gb...less than his 3.  he would have to have a crap load of stuff in the background to slow the game appreciably.  the main issue here is that he is on a weak GPU so he needs to turn the settings down lower than the regular game options allow...lower res textures, lower detail etc.  the link i provided describes how to do all of these things.

WoT tweaker can help by removing many of the particle affects (some of this is covered in my link).  however, a big part of his issue are surely frame buffer related (because of the weak gpu...little/no dedicated vram), so lowering the texture details would help quite a bit.

area86 #16 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 22:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4629 battles
  • 95
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
desktop not laptop

area86 #17 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 22:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4629 battles
  • 95
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
desktop not laptop

area86 #18 Posted Oct 21 2011 - 22:21

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4629 battles
  • 95
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
stupid double post ^^^^^^^ B)

ZombieFlanders #19 Posted Oct 22 2011 - 00:15

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 11324 battles
  • 2,987
  • Member since:
    09-29-2010
since its a low profile case youre options for upgrading are limited to graphics cards that arent that powerful.  the tweaks and mods suggested above will work for any computer...stay away from gamebooster though.  

what is the model number of the slimline BTW?

Katamariguy1 #20 Posted Oct 22 2011 - 00:56

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 3904 battles
  • 807
  • [PONYR] PONYR
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
17-22 fps?

If you're not being prevented from actually being competitive, high framerates don't really matter. :Smile_honoring: