Jump to content


How to get more detailed icons


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
53 replies to this topic

Frehelias #21 Posted Aug 31 2010 - 16:55

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 459
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010

View PostRey, on Aug 31 2010 - 14:53, said:

If you do not have quick reactions - not posed.
Dude why are you so obsessed with making this a refer section to the Russian forum?
Most of us here don't read that forum and we don't care if something has been posted there. So get lost with saying he "stole" something from your stupid Russian forum.
You have also posted something here that was already on here. So get lost with your stupid accusations.

FlightcranK #22 Posted Aug 31 2010 - 17:04

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12231 battles
  • 561
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010

View Postshiki, on Aug 31 2010 - 14:17, said:

thing is with the new icons you dont see the stuart like that... it remains like in the past
i used them for like 2 weeks
and got trouble to indentify a tank faster
to many details
in the normal icons you can see a heavy or an arty right away, with this you need to check the details to troublesome in the middle of battle  <_<

I would like to have a sideview but with details. To bad we don't have a resource for that.

Rey #23 Posted Aug 31 2010 - 17:48

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 17 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    08-29-2010
Calling the official forum of the game can only stupid primitive young schoolboy

FlightcranK #24 Posted Aug 31 2010 - 18:05

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12231 battles
  • 561
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010
If you want to glorify russia, you have your forum, it doesn't work here. We weren't allowed anyways to post stuff from the russian beta on ours forums for a long timeframe. And it is not like someone searches with google translation on a russian forum for a icon replacement. You only posted a *.rar file and thats it. I made a full instruction that is safe and easy to understand.

Fearil #25 Posted Sep 01 2010 - 20:08

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 4074 battles
  • 41
  • [R0GUE] R0GUE
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
Anyone ever hear of 'credit given where credit due'? If someone else created this they deserve the recognition.

Its akin to the theft of intellectual property. I know it doesn't mean as much these days as it used to, what with music/movies/books/etc available for download online without paying the owner/creator of said property, but plagiarism is a nasty thing. For instance, if I plagiarized on any of my papers at my university (not giving credit and references where necessary), I get my ass booted out of university and would fail to gain entry into another program of the same type...

All I'm saying is that if credit is due somewhere, its only fair to give it. I have no idea whether its from the RU forums or not, just adding my $0.02...


PS: Thanks very much for posting -1 rep on a post that makes perfect sense, and abuses no one. Please exercise some maturity, instead of being spiteful over nothing. Thanks.

akakiller #26 Posted Sep 02 2010 - 10:31

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 649 battles
  • 10
  • [ECO] ECO
  • Member since:
    07-29-2010
here is a good question, why is  FlightcranK's screenshot have russian text in it, russian text is only on the ru client which is used for the russain server which make me think that he has been on the russian forum. im not say he did steal it but give another thing to think about. but here another thing people havnt thought about what if they both thought about then made the mod not knowing about the other person making it.

Tanitha #27 Posted Sep 05 2010 - 12:10

    Major

  • WG Staff
  • 2405 battles
  • 4,723
  • Member since:
    08-20-2010
Thankyou very much for posting that here in the English forums. Ive seen new icons on some players screenshots and wondered where they came from.
I also would prefer the numbered icons if anyone knows where they come from, the info would be appreciated... Thanks.



Posted Image

FlightcranK #28 Posted Sep 05 2010 - 21:33

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12231 battles
  • 561
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010

View Postakakiller, on Sep 02 2010 - 10:31, said:

here is a good question, why is  FlightcranK's screenshot have russian text in it, russian text is only on the ru client which is used for the russain server which make me think that he has been on the russian forum. im not say he did steal it but give another thing to think about. but here another thing people havnt thought about what if they both thought about then made the mod not knowing about the other person making it.

Here is a good answer, i had no other version live that moment besides the russian one. Before that, we weren't allowed to post russian content. Got it?

Frehelias #29 Posted Sep 24 2010 - 09:51

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 459
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
Ah thanks for this found it again.
This should be pinned.

Anyways the M3 Stuart is missing the correct alpha channel.
So I made it and here it is.

Attached Files

  • Attached File   ussr-M3_Stuart_LL.zip   5.34K


Fum #30 Posted Sep 26 2010 - 11:00

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 429
  • Member since:
    07-15-2010

View PostFrehelias, on Sep 24 2010 - 09:51, said:

Ah thanks for this found it again.
This should be pinned.

Merged with the seliv icons and then pinned.

Tango71 #31 Posted Sep 28 2010 - 19:27

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 2183 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010
Looks awesome now. +1

usiRev #32 Posted Oct 04 2010 - 12:46

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
t(h)ank you very much :)

DarkApostle #33 Posted Oct 06 2010 - 09:56

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 10480 battles
  • 336
  • [BURYU] BURYU
  • Member since:
    07-12-2010
Cheers matey, love you work. :Smile_honoring:

Azmodanrom #34 Posted Oct 06 2010 - 14:27

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 242
  • Member since:
    09-09-2010
nice work.
an idea that would look better (i don;t like the white/grey/red outline) is to have the tanks and a dot in a corner. white/blue/green for class. and different shades indicating tier.
so for example very dark blue is tier1 - very bright blue is tier10. or dark grey is tier1 and white is tier10.

ed_anger #35 Posted Oct 06 2010 - 20:07

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 14285 battles
  • 7,700
  • Member since:
    07-01-2010
roman numbers will get reversed, no? maybe clearer to have arabic (standard) numbers on both sides of the icons, normal in front and reversed in back so it works both ways:

http://img408.images...733/numbers.jpg

or icons that reverse without any issues:

Posted Image

ed_anger #36 Posted Oct 07 2010 - 01:32

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 14285 battles
  • 7,700
  • Member since:
    07-01-2010
love putting the diamond/square/triangle icons in ;) i'd just make the TD triangle a bit bigger. cheers.

Azmodanrom #37 Posted Oct 07 2010 - 10:10

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 242
  • Member since:
    09-09-2010
http://forum.worldof...d-english-port/
if u look in this thread, in the icons zip this dude made, there are also 2 swf files that remove the "mirror" effect.

maybe u can use them :)

HighFlyer15 #38 Posted Oct 19 2010 - 21:42

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 249
  • Member since:
    09-09-2010
^^
I think I'll still be a lot more confused with those cool icons, than the regular ones..
But the regular ones with new colors are just what I needed :)
So much easier to spot tanks and what's left :)

usiRev #39 Posted Nov 11 2010 - 15:17

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
would be nice to add the american tanks to this usefull thing

Frehelias #40 Posted Nov 11 2010 - 15:18

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 459
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
I think the American tanks work with the same method.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users