Jump to content


Installing Issues


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

epicducklol #1 Posted Nov 24 2011 - 17:03

    Private

  • Players
  • 122 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
I can't run the installation. Everytime I run it it says non 7z archive. What is that? How can i fix this?

Dakodah #2 Posted Nov 24 2011 - 17:05

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 5139 battles
  • 1,754
  • Member since:
    06-29-2011
Are you running the Client or the Torrent?

epicducklol #3 Posted Nov 24 2011 - 17:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 122 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
I am running the client

Brygin #4 Posted Nov 24 2011 - 17:45

    First lieutenant

  • Community Contributor
  • 23005 battles
  • 788
  • Member since:
    02-26-2011
This problem is typically solved by right  clicking the downloaded 0.6.7 client and selecting "Extract files..."  (using 7zip 9.2 64bit on Win7 64bit system).  It seems for some the auto-extract is  faulty.

Then click the extracted "WoT_0.6.6_eu_setup" file and the game should install.

epicducklol #5 Posted Nov 24 2011 - 18:02

    Private

  • Players
  • 122 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
I don't have winzip

Brygin #6 Posted Nov 24 2011 - 19:07

    First lieutenant

  • Community Contributor
  • 23005 battles
  • 788
  • Member since:
    02-26-2011

View Postepicducklol, on Nov 24 2011 - 18:02, said:

I don't have winzip

It is open source software.

http://www.7-zip.org/

But which version of windows are you using?

epicducklol #7 Posted Nov 25 2011 - 21:37

    Private

  • Players
  • 122 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
windows 7

epicducklol #8 Posted Nov 25 2011 - 21:50

    Private

  • Players
  • 122 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
It is not working.

epicducklol #9 Posted Nov 25 2011 - 22:01

    Private

  • Players
  • 122 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
It wont open file. It says "Can not open file 'C:/Users/mommyjeanine/Downloads/WoT_0.6.7_us_setup.exe' as archive.

KirkB #10 Posted Nov 27 2011 - 00:11

    Private

  • Players
  • 1378 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011

View Postepicducklol, on Nov 25 2011 - 22:01, said:

It wont open file. It says "Can not open file 'C:/Users/mommyjeanine/Downloads/WoT_0.6.7_us_setup.exe' as archive.

I have the same issue. Really want to get back in game if this can be resolved...

KirkB #11 Posted Nov 28 2011 - 02:07

    Private

  • Players
  • 1378 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011

View PostKirkB, on Nov 27 2011 - 00:11, said:

I have the same issue. Really want to get back in game if this can be resolved...

Come on WOT, a little help, or even hope.

Effrayant #12 Posted Nov 29 2011 - 00:52

    Private

  • Players
  • 174 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    05-08-2011
same issue as above... no matter what version I DL I get corrupt/missing fillings or 7zip errors HELP PLEASE

Rogue_Eagle #13 Posted Nov 29 2011 - 02:30

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3071 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    11-28-2011
same issue here, heard this game was good, downloaded client today through browser (as I didnt want to risk getting an out of date one on rapidshare/torrent), find can't open for the same 7zip is archive reason, tried running as admin, extracting etc. no luck.

Pretty bummed, spent hours downloading this and cap can't really handle another 2gb download.

Gotta say I'm pretty surprised the installer is borked.

KirkB #14 Posted Nov 29 2011 - 02:59

    Private

  • Players
  • 1378 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011
I installed 7zip, no good. I deleted the exe and pulled it down again, no good. I deleted the exe pulled it down again, disabled anti-virus before running it, no good. I tried running it as administrator, no good.

I am running Windows 7 Home Premium.

crushingdestroyer #15 Posted Nov 29 2011 - 03:39

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 8127 battles
  • 3,922
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
Try downloading the game then saving it (DO NOT execute it) then run it after you have saved it.

DC1121 #16 Posted Nov 29 2011 - 06:15

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 7900 battles
  • 354
  • Member since:
    08-28-2011
I have the same issue. Just bought a new machine, went to download the game......and fail. Win7z. WTF! Runs great on my old machine and even recently downloaded to my laptop at work; that works fine and has Windows7 Home Premium. .......?....... help please.


EDIT: Tried to reinstall, and got a message when that failed, about reinstalling in 'compatability mode' or something like that. Tried that and presto!; it worked. Also had to install directx9,apparently the game runs in diectx9 not in 10 or 11. Found a post about that,man was that helpful too.

KirkB #17 Posted Nov 30 2011 - 01:38

    Private

  • Players
  • 1378 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011

View Postcrushingdestroyer, on Nov 29 2011 - 03:39, said:

Try downloading the game then saving it (DO NOT execute it) then run it after you have saved it.


Thats the only way I have ever done it.

KirkB #18 Posted Dec 03 2011 - 19:54

    Private

  • Players
  • 1378 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011

View PostKirkB, on Nov 30 2011 - 01:38, said:

Thats the only way I have ever done it.


I'll try opening a ticket...

KirkB #19 Posted Dec 04 2011 - 05:33

    Private

  • Players
  • 1378 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011

View PostKirkB, on Dec 03 2011 - 19:54, said:

I'll try opening a ticket...


Those still having the issue, I got a responce from support:

Dear Player,

Please try deleting your previously downloaded installers and then download a copy of our client from FilePlanet at the following link:
http://www.fileplane...nks-Client-(US)

We would like you to please inform us of the outcome.

Best Regards,



Seems to be working. Good luck.