Jump to content


Solution to frequent WOT client crashes


  • Please log in to reply
160 replies to this topic

X32Wright #141 Posted Nov 02 2014 - 16:40

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Yes exactly.  Red textures means in common parlance as red paint job or red skin.  Yes for some systems you still need to do the Large Address allocation procedure. 

charcoal59 #142 Posted Mar 05 2015 - 08:14

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    08-27-2014
So, I have done this and now no sound, how can I correct this?

Yitamin #143 Posted Mar 05 2015 - 12:46

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 10862 battles
  • 13
  • Member since:
    12-14-2010
Hi wow thank for this I'm going to try it asap. I was getting fairly mad with world of tanks poor optimization for my gpu. An R9 290 I was running most games at 80fps + on full graphics and WoT was only getting 30-50 with serious issues like consant crashes before the game had started, getting stuck on the loading screen but be able to hear the game and see my xvm mod textures and also whilst in game having it lock up only WoT locking up for up to 10 seconds. The game was nearly unplayable especially in high teir games.

connor60404 #144 Posted Mar 12 2015 - 00:45

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 2447 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-12-2014

I get stuck on the battle loading screen and I can,t get in battle with my teir 7 or 6

 



X32Wright #145 Posted Mar 17 2015 - 04:04

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
How much RAM do you have?

Spartan_0 #146 Posted Mar 31 2015 - 04:13

    Private

  • Players
  • 4722 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    01-05-2012

Nothing is working so im going to reinstall, i really appreciate the help though!

 



Spartan_0 #147 Posted Mar 31 2015 - 22:28

    Private

  • Players
  • 4722 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    01-05-2012

I reinstalled and it fixed the problem!

 



X32Wright #148 Posted Apr 01 2015 - 05:49

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Well I am glad that it did :)  This doesn't mean you wont still get it but it would be drastically reduced.  I still get crashes but only occasionally now But you must have the temp ventilation issue also addressed because the game loses an enormous amount of GPU and CPU resources..

Glaarb #149 Posted Jul 22 2015 - 18:24

    Private

  • Players
  • 11975 battles
  • 2
  • [FRAY] FRAY
  • Member since:
    08-20-2012
Thanks for the fix, disabling the offending bus worked for me. GTX 980 causing crashes due to an audio function I don't even use, who would've guessed :P

X32Wright #150 Posted Jul 26 2015 - 16:58

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

View PostGlaarb, on Jul 22 2015 - 12:24, said:

Thanks for the fix, disabling the offending bus worked for me. GTX 980 causing crashes due to an audio function I don't even use, who would've guessed :P

 

Yup I discovered this issue way back and have been disabling the conflicting HD Audio Device ever since in my subsequent video cards and OS installs. Glad to have helped you.

Bomber_40 #151 Posted Jun 09 2016 - 18:01

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1786 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    05-01-2015
I have not tried this yet. I haven"t tried it yet because it is way to complicated for me. I will have to see if my dad can do it for me (still a kid/in school). Tanks anyway! See ya on the battlefield :great:

Bomber_40 #152 Posted Jun 15 2016 - 17:16

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1786 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    05-01-2015
I am not able to see the pictures.

X32Wright #153 Posted Aug 01 2016 - 22:58

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Okay sorry just been able to fix this now.  The new pictures are up.

heavymetal1967 #154 Posted Aug 03 2016 - 15:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 65364 battles
  • 17,523
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

OP just an FYI in case you're not aware as I'm going through my handful of "technical issues" followed threads.

 

They're removing inactive threads older than 60 days.  So you probably want to periodically bump this to keep it alive as it's a valuable thread.

 

And haven't had to use it myself, but thanks for posting it and keeping it updated.



X32Wright #155 Posted Aug 03 2016 - 20:09

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Yeah I should but I am a Community Contributor already and this thread is a sticky as well for while now so I don't think it would be a problem but thanks for the heads up. Yes it has helped a lot of people and I am glad since people blame the game when it is a video card driver and settings issue that is mostly the culprit.

Edited by X32Wright, Jul 12 2018 - 22:33.


rich73 #156 Posted May 13 2018 - 20:18

    Major

  • Players
  • 51981 battles
  • 6,396
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011

View PostX32Wright, on Dec 02 2011 - 16:48, said:

Have you had frequent and unpredictable WOT client crashes?  If you have a sound card and nVidia card (maybe ATI too) then follow the instructions below to see if it solves your problem:

 

FYI:This solution assumes you have a standalone soundcard and is not using your onboard soundcard.


Go to Control Panel and then Device Manager and locate the Display Adapter and look if you have an entry for 'High Definition Audio Controller'
 

Spoiler
Select your video card and Right Click for PROPERTIES. Look for the 'Location' entry and note the BUS and FUNCTION entries:
 
Spoiler

Do the same for the 'High Definition Audio Controller'
 
Spoiler

IF the BUS used is identical (between the video card and the HD Audio Controller) BUT the FUNCTION is different (say PCI BUS 1, Function 0 and PCI BUS 1, Function 1)
Spoiler

'DISABLE' the 'High Definition Audio Controller'
 
Spoiler

Your WOT client would be much more stable.  It might still crash but not as often.  The problem stems from sharing the same bus (IRQ in fact) hence they interrupt each other.  The reason is most video cards today do have their own audio device built-in for HDMI output.

UPDATE: For newer video cards specially nVidia the location of the HD Audio Controller has changed.
It is no longer under the 'Sound,Video and Game Controllers section' (although sometimes it is still listed there, you cannot disable it there anymore).  

 
Spoiler

You must now go to the System Devices section to DISABLE it.
 
Spoiler

UPDATE II:  I would also check the python log.  If your python log contains a lot of missing file error, inability to read .pyc files and countless CTD (Crash to Desktop) during the game as well and have PATCH Launcher errors like "Critical Errors' , then you might have a Hard Drive problem.  You might not notice this with other programs but with WOT you will.  Sadly the solution for this is a brand new hard drive.  This I know from experience as well.


Please comment here and give tips and observation if this helped you.

Edit: This has also been tested by people with ATI video card and the same fix works. You just might have a different designation for your 'HD audio controller'.

You can also try to DISABLE, "Data Execution Prevention':
 
Spoiler



https://support.worl...-no-error-given

 

If you also have ONBOARD video and added a video card please DISABLE the ONBOARD VGA in the BIOS to prevent any IRQ conflicts or video driver conflicts.

 

Also try to run the WOT application as 'Administrator' seems to help so right click the client executable and do a 'Run as Administrator'

 

Running STANDARD vs IMPROVED graphics settings also might mitigate your crashing and this goes the same for running a non-HD client as well.

 

Also if you are in a 32-bit OS and have 4GB, you can try to run this application (LARGE ADDRESS AWARE) to solve client crashes,freezing and loading issues:

 

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/large-address-aware.112556/

 

Keep in mind that this would not work in 64-bit OS.

 

You can also try to set your WOT client.executable to 'Windows7 or Windows 8 compatibility' and see if it becomes more stable by right clicking the Properties of the World_of_Tanks.exe.

 

Something new to try:

 

1. go to your WOT folder and find the wotlauncher.exe

2. Create a shortcut and paste it somewhere you can find it. "right click" on the new shortcut and go to properties.

3. Alter the target to add " -integrity_default_client" after the target (notice the space after .exe and before -integrity)

4. Run the shortcut and the client will check your game. Hopefully it will find missing/corrupt content and replace it.

 

PS: You might have to DISABLE the HD Audio Controller for every time you install new video drivers since that sometimes resets the Device Manager settings.

 

Or WG could fix their friggen game..This stuff been going on forever.Only thing that happens is different people are affected and they think because they fixed some games,they call that a success,ignoring the new players that have problems,forever and ever ,amen.

X32Wright #157 Posted May 17 2018 - 00:33

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Did you read the post at all? If you did you will see that this has nothing to do with WG or WOT but had to do with the way an Nvidia/ATI driver handles the use of the same bus but a different function hence it creates an IRQ (interrupt request) conflict. This has nothing to do with the game but is a driver computer resource allocation problem.

Edited by X32Wright, May 22 2018 - 05:16.


QuicksilverJPR #158 Posted Jul 26 2018 - 20:45

    Major

  • Players
  • 25744 battles
  • 4,103
  • [RPG] RPG
  • Member since:
    01-17-2013

I'd also like to add this particular thread into the mix for strange/frequent WoT crashes...

 

http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.php?/topic/645222-game-crashing-to-desktop-while-loading/

 

I had this problem myself and it took me the better part of a year to track down and finally diagnose it.  Then I found a thread with the same problems on the EU board...

 

Anyway, hope this solves some problems for at least a few of you out there!



X32Wright #159 Posted Aug 03 2018 - 03:43

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 40694 battles
  • 1,805
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Thank you!

JohnyBravo42 #160 Posted Sep 01 2018 - 10:02

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 11293 battles
  • 65
  • Member since:
    12-10-2015
His solution works, not one crash since I did disable that High Definition Audi Controller.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users