Jump to content


Solution to frequent WOT client crashes


  • Please log in to reply
154 replies to this topic

BuubyTrap #41 Posted Oct 08 2012 - 05:34

    Major

  • Players
  • 28789 battles
  • 3,349
  • [_BOT_] _BOT_
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012
Have you had any new issues with WoT? Our computer crashes constantly, has since 7.4 - although 7.5 and 8.0 seem worse. Every crash you can think of - even just randomly sitting in the garage. At map load. At battle end. Mid battle. Blue screen. CTD. Sometimes can get in again, sometimes have to restart computer. Can be stable for an hour or two, then start crashing constantly. Can happen on first battle of the day. Can crash a few times then stabilize. Once in a rare while I lose the mouse cursor after the crash, as well. We have 2 computers, the laptop rarely ever has a hiccup. Desktop one is like a temperamental two year old (or teenager).

TIA

X32Wright #42 Posted Oct 09 2012 - 08:26

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Mine has been stable for 8.0 but then again I added RAM so I am now 8GB and running Windows 8 preview as well.

BuubyTrap #43 Posted Oct 09 2012 - 16:36

    Major

  • Players
  • 28789 battles
  • 3,349
  • [_BOT_] _BOT_
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012
We tried out your suggestion last night, and discovered that we had TWO High Def audio controllers listed, and one of them did have a bus conflict with the video card. We disabled the one with the conflict and left the other one enabled. Haven't played enough to find out if it helped yet, but hopefully it will have a positive impact. Will post results after playing for a while. Thanks for the assistance!

D_A_W #44 Posted Oct 11 2012 - 12:31

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 8229 battles
  • 527
  • Member since:
    06-06-2012
I have 2 HD Audio Controller, the 1st shares the same bus and different function from the display adapter but the other one has this: "PCI bus 0, device 20, function 2". I have disabled the 1st one but what should I do to the another one?

Edited by D_A_W, Oct 11 2012 - 12:33.


X32Wright #45 Posted Oct 11 2012 - 14:01

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
If it is not on the same PCI BUS leave it alone, if it is on the same BUS with a different FUNCTION then DISABLE it.

BuubyTrap #46 Posted Oct 12 2012 - 03:37

    Major

  • Players
  • 28789 battles
  • 3,349
  • [_BOT_] _BOT_
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012

View PostBuubyTrap, on Oct 09 2012 - 16:36, said:

We tried out your suggestion last night, and discovered that we had TWO High Def audio controllers listed, and one of them did have a bus conflict with the video card. We disabled the one with the conflict and left the other one enabled. Haven't played enough to find out if it helped yet, but hopefully it will have a positive impact. Will post results after playing for a while. Thanks for the assistance!

Unfortunately, it didn't help in this instance :Smile_amazed: . We decided to try putting it back to its original components (un-upgraded) and it seems to be more stable now, maybe there were compatibility issues or something. It has crashed once since then.
Thanks again, at least we eliminated one potential cause.

D_A_W #47 Posted Oct 12 2012 - 11:35

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 8229 battles
  • 527
  • Member since:
    06-06-2012

View PostX32Wright, on Oct 11 2012 - 14:01, said:

If it is not on the same PCI BUS leave it alone, if it is on the same BUS with a different FUNCTION then DISABLE it.

Already done that, let's see if it's working. I'll tell you the result. :Smile_honoring:

DEZLOK #48 Posted Oct 23 2012 - 21:12

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 10550 battles
  • 989
  • Member since:
    12-04-2011
I have to give this a try.

67TommyGuns #49 Posted Nov 09 2012 - 04:38

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 15638 battles
  • 288
  • Member since:
    05-06-2012

View PostX32Wright, on Dec 03 2011 - 01:48, said:

Have you had frequent and unpredictable WOT client crashes (including ST client)?  If you have a sound card and nVidia card (maybe ATI too) then follow the instructions below to see if it solves your problem:

Go to Control Panel and then Device Manager and locate the Display Adapter and look if you have an entry for 'High Definition Audio Controller'

Spoiler                     

Select your video card and Right Click for PROPERTIES. Look for the 'Location' entry and note the BUS and FUNCTION entries:

Spoiler                     

Do the same for the 'High Definition Audio Controller'

Spoiler                     

IF the BUS used is identical (between the video card and the HD Audio Controller) BUT the FUNCTION is different (PCI BUS 4, Function 0 and PCI BUS 4 Function 1):

Spoiler                     

'DISABLE' the 'High Definition Audio Controller'

Spoiler                     

Your WOT client would be much more stable.  It might still crash but not as often.  The problem stems from sharing the same bus (IRQ in fact) hence they interrupt each other.  The reason is most video cards today do have their own audio device built-in for HDMI output.

Please comment here and gives tips and observation if this helped you.

Edit: This has also been tested by people with ATI video card and the same fix works. You just might have a different designation for your 'HD audio controller'.

I am continuing to experience this problem.
I have 2 HD sound devices listed and have disabled the one that conflicts with my display adapter. I am still getting a crash to desktop and it is definitely in coincidence with a sound event. Not a particular per se but it happens when a video and sound even occur simultaneously.
Suggestion, ad a 2ms delay to the sound process. The computer will know the difference but we never will.

X32Wright #50 Posted Nov 09 2012 - 17:22

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Are you using on-board soundcard or peripheral soundcard (meaning it is on a slot of its own)?  If it is onboard then you have a RESOURCES problem. It menas that your CPU is unable to handle both game related process as well as handle the sounds at the same time since this is what ONBOARD soundcard does, it essentially uses CPU resources to process sound.

If you have onboard audio I suggest you get a internal soundcard and an internal soundcard is better than onboard soundcard.

Edited by X32Wright, Nov 09 2012 - 17:23.


BuubyTrap #51 Posted Nov 09 2012 - 20:07

    Major

  • Players
  • 28789 battles
  • 3,349
  • [_BOT_] _BOT_
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012
Hey Wright, a month ago we tried your fix on our computer, and although we did find a conflict, it didn't make a difference. Just thought to let you know, as a follow-up, we took our upgraded video card and power supply out and put them into a different computer. Put the original pieces back in the old box. Now neither computer has any issues. The problem one has had exactly 1 crash since then, the other one has been rock solid. We can only surmise that perhaps the older computer had a poor connection somewhere or something from the get-go, as it had never been particularly stable right from day 1. Mysterious things, those computers.

X32Wright #52 Posted Nov 09 2012 - 21:55

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Agreed but for me this totally solved my frequent crashing issue.

BuubyTrap #53 Posted Nov 09 2012 - 23:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 28789 battles
  • 3,349
  • [_BOT_] _BOT_
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012
Just thought the feedback might be useful, you never know.

X32Wright #54 Posted Nov 09 2012 - 23:23

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
of course between then and now you probably were using 7.5 and now 8.1?

BuubyTrap #55 Posted Nov 10 2012 - 01:44

    Major

  • Players
  • 28789 battles
  • 3,349
  • [_BOT_] _BOT_
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012
Actually, I don't remember what the game build was when we did the changes (I believe 8.0), however, the before and after "snapshots" would have been the same game version - the computers were only down for a day.

Wonderdownunder #56 Posted Nov 13 2012 - 00:06

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 1254 battles
  • 48
  • Member since:
    06-25-2012
Thanks X32Wright, I have tried your solution, my client still crashes...a bit...but less than before.
I actually finished a few games last night, first time it has worked since 8.1...!!

Are you saying that reinstalling the client after making this fix will eliminate the remaining crashes?
I have reinstalled 8.1 three times with no improvement, yours is the only suggestion that has had any effect on game stability.
My data cap means I probably can't re-re-install till next month.

Thanks again.

X32Wright #57 Posted Nov 13 2012 - 00:33

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
My solution works I know since it worked on mine, other issues are caused by memory leaks, insufficient memory and HD corruption at times that leads to the python files being corrupted. This is why it is important to look at the python.log in the game.  You might have to re-install some files outside of the game like the Visual C++ 2010 runtime.

This game really likes to have 4GB on it own meaning to run smoothly you will need 6GB if not 8GB RAM and at least 1024MB VRAM. I would also suggest that when downloading the client you use Jdownloader or other downloading program to avoid CRC errors.

PS: You're a kiwi ehh?

Edited by X32Wright, Nov 13 2012 - 00:36.


MassiveHyperion #58 Posted Nov 14 2012 - 18:05

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 23189 battles
  • 815
  • Member since:
    09-20-2012
I've been having crashes since 8.1, I checked my drivers and this fix won't apply (Nuts!).  But i figured I'd pipe up here just in case I can help other people.

One sure fire solution to the game crashing for me is to use the old rendering engine instead of the new one.  A newer more experimental (for me) soilution is to enable vSync.  It really cuts down on the load of the video card when sitting in the garage, and consequently drops the heat on the GPU from 80c+ to 55-60c.  I've still had a crash but no hard locks since turning on vSync.

More details are here: http://forum.worldof...raphics-engine/

GP_Large #59 Posted Nov 14 2012 - 20:59

    Captain

  • Players
  • 47696 battles
  • 1,761
  • Member since:
    08-08-2012
Hey folks...

I'm a noob (don't mind the designation :)....I've been playing since August, and have absolutely no issues other than having only 2gigs of memory - upgraded to 4 and have no issues other than "lag" which I attribute to needing more memory.  Which is on it's way.

That is until yesturday.  At "change of day" almost like a switch, I've been have freezing and crashing issues.

I have a basic Dell box, running windows 7 with an ATI/Radeon x 1300 (factory) and factory sound.

I reinstalled the client, updated windows and sound devices and checked out this thread, with no real help... other than the rendering idea presented above.

You guys seem like you know enough - or chat with enough others, to see if this has happened to any one else..

Any help and pointers are greatly appreciated....tw

X32Wright #60 Posted Nov 14 2012 - 21:48

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 36040 battles
  • 1,706
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Check and see if your video card is overheating.  How can you test? Enable Vsync and preferably open the case and put a table top fan to cool it.  If you do not crash as often when you do this then it is an ventilation/overheating issue with your video card.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users