Jump to content


cant run the exe.file


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

Ast3r0th #1 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 14:28

    Private

  • Players
  • 7633 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    10-28-2011
i am trying to run the exe file and the following message appears :

Could not overwrite file "C:/ Users /CB02~1 /AppData / Local /Temp /WoT_0.6.7_US_SETUP_EXE".
Access denied
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  anyone has any clue what should i do ???

Millbarge #2 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 14:40

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 38839 battles
  • 4,536
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011

View PostAst3r0th, on Dec 05 2011 - 14:28, said:

i am trying to run the exe file and the following message appears :

Could not overwrite file "C:/ Users /CB02~1 /AppData / Local /Temp /WoT_0.6.7_US_SETUP_EXE".
Access denied
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  anyone has any clue what should i do ???

Are you trying to install the game?

I would suggest you save the install file and then run it.

DeadReckoning #3 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 14:42

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 29686 battles
  • 175
  • Member since:
    03-16-2011
You might also need to log in as administrator on your PC...could also be a rights issue when it comes to installing an application on your computer since it can't overwrite the file.

Ast3r0th #4 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 14:44

    Private

  • Players
  • 7633 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    10-28-2011
i have the wot icon on my desktop..i press run by double clicking and this message appears..what do you mean save it ? i tried already as administrator

Millbarge #5 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 14:55

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 38839 battles
  • 4,536
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011

View PostAst3r0th, on Dec 05 2011 - 14:44, said:

i have the wot icon on my desktop..i press run by double clicking and this message appears..what do you mean save it ? i tried already as administrator

So again... are you trying to install the game or did you already install and now cant play?

Ast3r0th #6 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 15:11

    Private

  • Players
  • 7633 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    10-28-2011
i havent installed yet...i donwloaded on my desktop...i double click the WOT icon to run it....it starts extract and on 99% it appears the message

kannan #7 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 15:53

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10074 battles
  • 29
  • Member since:
    07-18-2011

View PostAst3r0th, on Dec 05 2011 - 15:11, said:

i havent installed yet...i donwloaded on my desktop...i double click the WOT icon to run it....it starts extract and on 99% it appears the message

I don't know much about Notebook. But try the following

1. Move your WOT setup file that you have downloaded to any local drive or any folder.
2. move "WoT_0.6.7_US_SETUP_EXE" from C:/ Users /CB02~1 /AppData / Local /Temp / to any folder
3. Make sure u have full admin rights on notebook PC.
4. Disconnect your notebook PC from Internet.
5. De-Activate or Disable your Antivirus and firewall if any.
6. Try to run and install the WOT setup file from where you have moved it.

* Actually the WOT Icon on desktop might be the shortcut to the setup file in C:/ Users /CB02~1 /AppData / Local /Temp /WoT_0.6.7_US_SETUP_EXE that is y the step 1 and 2 is confusing :P

sampak #8 Posted Dec 05 2011 - 17:58

    Captain

  • Players
  • 13062 battles
  • 1,648
  • Member since:
    04-24-2011
As a side note to help future installations of games and programs in the long run, I strongly suggest to NEVER download files (unless it's just a small text or temporary thing) onto your desktop. Instead get into the habit of making a folder called "Files" or "Downloads" in your C:\ or whatever, and download and save all installtion/setup files there. THEN from there, run them and all that good stuff.


Anyhow, from what it sounds like, seems your Windows is having trouble over-writing a temporary file assuming it's extracting the contents to that \temp\ folder. I cannot say I have the remedy, but go into that folder, and empty it out (delete anything there). It might deny deleting some specific folders/files, and that's fine, leave them be. Then try running the setup file for WOT again.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users