Jump to content


How do I watch a replay?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

Red_Commander #1 Posted Dec 14 2011 - 18:48

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 35570 battles
  • 26
  • [TF] TF
  • Member since:
    06-16-2011
Hi all,

I was wondering how I can watch replays under 7.0.  I enabled "recordings" in the "Game" section of Settings and I now see a replays folder with replay recordings in my WOT game folder.  Can I watch these or is that not yet working?

Thanks for any help!

Moved from guide to discussion.  ~ Brygin

Avocet #2 Posted Dec 14 2011 - 18:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 10487 battles
  • 2,262
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
You should be able to double-click on the replay file in that folder to start the replay.

Red_Commander #3 Posted Dec 14 2011 - 18:59

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 35570 battles
  • 26
  • [TF] TF
  • Member since:
    06-16-2011

View Postbronco330, on Dec 14 2011 - 18:52, said:

You should be able to double-click on the replay file in that folder to start the replay.


Thanks for the input.  I've tried double left-clicking a replay file in my replays folder but unfortunately nothing happens.  Hence my question.

Avocet #4 Posted Dec 14 2011 - 19:09

    Major

  • Players
  • 10487 battles
  • 2,262
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011

View PostRed_Commander, on Dec 14 2011 - 18:59, said:

Thanks for the input.  I've tried double left-clicking a replay file in my replays folder but unfortunately nothing happens.  Hence my question.
Hmm... are you in the game client when you try to do it? I believe you have to have the client open in order for it to work.

Red_Commander #5 Posted Dec 14 2011 - 19:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 35570 battles
  • 26
  • [TF] TF
  • Member since:
    06-16-2011

View Postbronco330, on Dec 14 2011 - 19:09, said:

Hmm... are you in the game client when you try to do it? I believe you have to have the client open in order for it to work.

Ok, I can answer my own question now.  The issue was that I had WoT already running when I was trying to watch the replay.

So to sum up, to run replays, you must do the following:

1)  Enable the "Recordings" check box under "Game", under Settings in the Menu options.
2)  Play your game.
3)  Exit World of Tanks and locate your World of Tanks game folder on your computer.
4)  In this folder, you should find a "Replays" folder.  In this folder you will find your replays.
5)  Simply double-left click on the replay file you want to watch and enjoy!

Again, the key here is that you must exit World of Tanks to watch a replay.  Replays won't work if you are already in the game - this was the difficulty I was having.

Tankgunner14 #6 Posted Dec 15 2011 - 02:59

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 8060 battles
  • 26
  • Member since:
    06-01-2011

View PostRed_Commander, on Dec 14 2011 - 19:20, said:

Ok, I can answer my own question now.  The issue was that I had WoT already running when I was trying to watch the replay.

So to sum up, to run replays, you must do the following:

1)  Enable the "Recordings" check box under "Game", under Settings in the Menu options.
2)  Play your game.
3)  Exit World of Tanks and locate your World of Tanks game folder on your computer.
4)  In this folder, you should find a "Replays" folder.  In this folder you will find your replays.
5)  Simply double-left click on the replay file you want to watch and enjoy!

Again, the key here is that you must exit World of Tanks to watch a replay.  Replays won't work if you are already in the game - this was the difficulty I was having.

  On my computor it still will not open up, it shows a loading circle next to the mouse for 3 seconds the nothing happens.

twistedspark #7 Posted Dec 18 2011 - 10:36

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 12915 battles
  • 376
  • Member since:
    11-29-2011

View PostTankgunner14, on Dec 15 2011 - 02:59, said:

  On my computor it still will not open up, it shows a loading circle next to the mouse for 3 seconds the nothing happens.

This sounds like a system settings configuration problem.  Perhaps giving your computer operating system and specs would help someone here be of more help.  For example, I know several Windows 7 reasons why it may not work, but we don't know if that is even your system.

sampak #8 Posted Dec 21 2011 - 20:29

    Captain

  • Players
  • 9115 battles
  • 1,620
  • Member since:
    04-24-2011

View PostTankgunner14, on Dec 15 2011 - 02:59, said:

  On my computor it still will not open up, it shows a loading circle next to the mouse for 3 seconds the nothing happens.

View Posttwistedspark, on Dec 18 2011 - 10:36, said:

This sounds like a system settings configuration problem.  Perhaps giving your computer operating system and specs would help someone here be of more help.  For example, I know several Windows 7 reasons why it may not work, but we don't know if that is even your system.


No, I believe it's the same issue I have with replay files. Windows is not recognizing the file and doesn't know what to do with it (no "file association," I think is the issue).

If that's what anyone else is having an issue with (won't do anything/etc) then to watch the replay, simply drag and drop the replay file onto your WOT shortcut. It'll load WOT, run the replay as normal, then once it reaches the end, it will quit. Works for me.

Trauma05 #9 Posted Dec 22 2011 - 17:29

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11722 battles
  • 86
  • [SHDWC] SHDWC
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
Thanks for the help.

DHanson865 #10 Posted Feb 07 2012 - 15:03

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 27511 battles
  • 377
  • [FCF] FCF
  • Member since:
    01-20-2012
don't know how this post got in this thread, doesn't seem to be in context so I'm removing the original content about artillery

Sparater #11 Posted Feb 18 2012 - 04:42

    Captain

  • Players
  • 8309 battles
  • 1,085
  • Member since:
    05-22-2011
Just hit 17/17 on my e75, killed 2 t34s, 1 jgtiger, 2 t-44s, and a vk3601h in my E75. I took 27 hits, most of them from tier 8s +. I had 2% hp left for the last 5 mins of battle. So beast. I died at the last 10 seconds as I was scouting their last arty for our arty. Got top gun, sniper, and Boelter's medal. Wish I had recording on. :(

MAJORzer0 #12 Posted Aug 04 2012 - 20:00

    Private

  • Players
  • 3359 battles
  • 9
  • [OTG-I] OTG-I
  • Member since:
    02-01-2012
apparently it is saving them all as corrupted files i guess. when i try to run them it gives me the 0xc0000022. I'm not sure if its the update but even the new ones do it. everything else runs fine though not sure wtf happened.

GodRugal #13 Posted Aug 25 2012 - 05:02

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 10160 battles
  • 380
  • [VPG] VPG
  • Member since:
    01-24-2012
thanks for the help

Edited by GodRugal, Aug 25 2012 - 05:03.


Sarphendon #14 Posted Nov 01 2012 - 03:50

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7555 battles
  • 27
  • Member since:
    02-28-2011
Dont know if this was ever answered.

These steps only work for windows users.
To play your WoT replay files you need to open them with your WoT executable.

1) Be sure your WoT is closed.
2) if you cannot open the file by 'double-clicking' the file, continue these steps.
3) Right click any replay file
4) choose 'open with...' and select 'select default program'
  a)You may not have the 'open with...' option, but rather a 'Open' and 'Open', you will click the 'Open' (unbolded)
5) The 'Open with' Menu box will appear possibly with suggested programs
  b) You may instead get a erroneous message box giving you two options, one to have windows search for a default program, or to find one
yourself, choose the second one.
6) Choose 'Browse' at the bottom of the 'Open with' menu box
7) Browse to your WoT executable (by default it is C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\WorldOfTanks)

Hope this helps!
~Sarphendon

Edited by Sarphendon, Nov 01 2012 - 03:51.


NavySnipers #15 Posted Nov 01 2012 - 03:54

    Major

  • Players
  • 20340 battles
  • 11,888
  • [LABS] LABS
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011
This thread has 8000 views, and only 14 comments.... O.o

HighPitch #16 Posted Nov 01 2012 - 04:20

    Major

  • Players
  • 36779 battles
  • 5,858
  • [HAVOK] HAVOK
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
7980+ people wondering "who the fck necroed this?", probably.

RothLord #17 Posted Nov 16 2012 - 12:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 9096 battles
  • 14
  • [S0L] S0L
  • Member since:
    03-06-2011
My WOT says its from an old version. I tell it to ignore and the game just CTD's.

PumaAC #18 Posted Nov 16 2012 - 12:33

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 18514 battles
  • 358
  • Member since:
    08-04-2010
I suspect, then, that the latest version is incompatible with the replays of previous versions.  Any replays you record under the new version should play back fine if that's the case, RothLord.