Jump to content


Game freezes entire computer


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

Elkslayer #1 Posted Dec 21 2011 - 15:37

    Private

  • Players
  • 1924 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    05-13-2011
Since updating to 7.0 this game freezes the entire computer and I have to reboot every time it happens.  I have updated via the torrent and have done a complete fresh install deleting all the folders prior to a new install.  No MODs running on the game.  It happens in different locations so hard to pinpoint what is causing it.  It can happen in the garage when I am switching tanks, in game, or when I exit the battle.  This has cost me about 100,000 credits so far as I get my arse killed and loose money when playing.  Seems to happen more with the German tanks than the others.  Anyone else experiencing this as well.  yes and all the new drivers are installed so let's no got there as they were rock solid in 6.7.
System is

Intel core I7 965
12 gigs of triple buffer ram
Nvidia GTX 470
Gigabyte MB
Asus Sound card

SeymoreGraves #2 Posted Dec 21 2011 - 15:43

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 15486 battles
  • 116
  • Member since:
    05-21-2011
My game freezes  for 1-3 seconds then goes back to normal. Must be servers acting stupid.

davewing #3 Posted Dec 21 2011 - 16:58

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 30913 battles
  • 576
  • [K-ON] K-ON
  • Member since:
    07-21-2011
Hello all,

          Your not alone it has happened to me once a day for the past few days. Total freeze and i too have to reboot. I hope they fix this as it happens during a match
          not fun for me or my team.

Have fun and good hunting, Dave

Kalmere #4 Posted Dec 21 2011 - 20:06

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-23-2010
I get to play for maybe a minute after the game freezes my computer... I get very messy artifacts on screen, so I think it has something to do with my graphics card which is NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512. Running on Vista. Never had freezes in earlier versions...

Reinstalling the game now, hopefully it helps... But I doubt it

Really sucks because spent my gold on premium and I'm missing the 5x  :Smile-izmena:

xxxstar #5 Posted Dec 24 2011 - 01:20

    Private

  • Players
  • 18412 battles
  • 4
  • [JEDI] JEDI
  • Member since:
    05-25-2011
Hi Guys I am also getting the same thing happening with my game. My computer crashes so hard I get a blue screen and at times have to reset my bios. :angry:  It’s P****** me off as I paid for a premium account and I'm also missing the 5xp. This is a fantastic game but they screwed it up with this update if it continues to crash I will be uninstalling for good  :( and going back to playing Need for Speed world.
Just hoping that this problem will be fixed soon with a 7.1 update or some info on how to stop the crashes.

I run Vista 32bit
Quad core Q6600
4 gig of ram
Nvidia GTX460 Graphics card all drivers up to date
XFX nForce 680i LT  Motherboard

tekcor #6 Posted Dec 27 2011 - 01:10

    Private

  • Players
  • 6216 battles
  • 7
  • [SPEAR] SPEAR
  • Member since:
    12-25-2011
I've been having the issues also.

AMD Athlon X2 6400
GA-MA790GP-DS4H Motherboard
4gb DDR2 RAM
ATI Raedon 6870 2gb DDR5
Windows 7 64bit

I replaced the ATI Raedon 5570 I had with a new 6870 (Christmas present), and I get a black screen. What is interesting, I use Skype to chat with the person I play with, and Skype still works during this black screen but there is no way to exit the black screen except by computer reboot.. I have updated all the drivers: BIOS, Sound, LAN, Video Card, North Bridge, South Bridge, and AMD Chipset. Uninstalled the game, repaired the registry, reinstalled the game and the black screen still continues.

What is the problem?

I'd love to play this game more. I've gone 2-3 hours a few times without having a bsod, but at times I can not even get one game in before a bsod.

Thanks.

Tanitha #7 Posted Dec 27 2011 - 10:38

    Major

  • WG Staff
  • 2405 battles
  • 4,704
  • Member since:
    08-20-2010

View PostElkslayer, on Dec 21 2011 - 15:37, said:

Since updating to 7.0 this game freezes the entire computer and I have to reboot every time it happens.  I have updated via the torrent and have done a complete fresh install deleting all the folders prior to a new install.  No MODs running on the game.  It happens in different locations so hard to pinpoint what is causing it.  It can happen in the garage when I am switching tanks, in game, or when I exit the battle.  This has cost me about 100,000 credits so far as I get my arse killed and loose money when playing.  Seems to happen more with the German tanks than the others.  Anyone else experiencing this as well.  yes and all the new drivers are installed so let's no got there as they were rock solid in 6.7.
System is

Intel core I7 965
12 gigs of triple buffer ram
Nvidia GTX 470
Gigabyte MB
Asus Sound card


Hello Elkslayer

Are you running the game in a player mod free environment?
Not all the old 6.7 player modules are bug free at the moment, so you might want to try reinstalling to a different directory and playing the game mod free for a test.

Tan.

tekcor #8 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 00:38

    Private

  • Players
  • 6216 battles
  • 7
  • [SPEAR] SPEAR
  • Member since:
    12-25-2011

View PostTanitha, on Dec 27 2011 - 10:38, said:

Hello Elkslayer

Are you running the game in a player mod free environment?
Not all the old 6.7 player modules are bug free at the moment, so you might want to try reinstalling to a different directory and playing the game mod free for a test.

Tan.

What advice do you have for somebody who has installed the game Christmas Day and has updated all the drivers (see my previous post in this thread) and is STILL crashing after multiple reinstalls?

tekcor #9 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 01:43

    Private

  • Players
  • 6216 battles
  • 7
  • [SPEAR] SPEAR
  • Member since:
    12-25-2011
Just to restate:

AMD Athlon X2 6400
GA-MA790GP-DS4H Motherboard
4gb DDR2 RAM
ATI Raedon 6870 2gb DDR5
Windows 7 64bit

Just reinstalled the game for a third time, totally different directory. Ran Windows Update that mentioned some updates, installed all updates. Reset the computer. First game crashes within 2 minutes of start. Skype was still up in the background and capable of talking/hearing.

Please fix/advise of other possible issues. I'd really like to play this game without the fear of crashing.

navy714 #10 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 03:33

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 9491 battles
  • 17
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
I am having the same trouble sense the new patch. I thought I was alone,I thought my comp was messed up. But now that I read this post,I know I am not alone.Hey WarGameing...FAIL PATCH!

Kirby #11 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 03:57

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 20917 battles
  • 263
  • [442ND] 442ND
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
ive had something like that except my game quits it just for no reason at all

tekcor #12 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 13:22

    Private

  • Players
  • 6216 battles
  • 7
  • [SPEAR] SPEAR
  • Member since:
    12-25-2011
I tested a theory. I removed my ATI Radeon 6870 and replaced it with a spare ATI Radeon 4850, so far in 5 games I have not had any bsods. Yesterday with the 6870 I played 6 games, got 5 crashes.

X32Wright #13 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 14:21

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 21863 battles
  • 1,525
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
http://forum.worldof...client-crashes/

fiddler54 #14 Posted Dec 28 2011 - 19:28

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 32523 battles
  • 817
  • [TDC-H] TDC-H
  • Member since:
    05-25-2011
IRQ conflict....
Crap.
I just upgraded all my hard drives to try and fix this....
System was so unstable it crashed the C drive every time and I had to recover from an image file.

Tanitha #15 Posted Dec 29 2011 - 20:18

    Major

  • WG Staff
  • 2405 battles
  • 4,704
  • Member since:
    08-20-2010

View Posttekcor, on Dec 28 2011 - 00:38, said:

What advice do you have for somebody who has installed the game Christmas Day and has updated all the drivers (see my previous post in this thread) and is STILL crashing after multiple reinstalls?


Hello tekcor.

While the vaste majority of crash issues with 7.0 are from 6.7 player made modules, that obviously isnt the case for all.
Especially yourself which just recently installed.

Have you tried this?
http://forum.worldof...client-crashes/

Otherwise please also contact support via the ticket system through support.worldoftanks.com
Its better to tackle the problem solving from both sides.

Regards
Tan.

I_Read_Your_Book #16 Posted Jan 22 2012 - 08:50

    Private

  • Players
  • 20806 battles
  • 4
  • [-TNW-] -TNW-
  • Member since:
    10-16-2011
I also have problems with the game freezing the entire computer.  Every once in a while I can bring up task manager and close the game, but usually I have to hard power down.  I only experience this when I am starting a new battle or returning to the garage after a battle.  I have experienced it in all software versions that I have run, including the most recent.  

My best guess is that it is related to the sound drivers.  Statistically, it happen more often if I am running Skype and chatting with my platoon mates.  It is so much more frequent when running skype that I now try not to use it on the same computer as the game.

Windows XP 32 bit.
Dell 390
Intel Core 2 6700
4 GB RAM
Typically no other software running (except, of course, services).

If a battle starts and I am not running my tank, its probably because I am rebooting.

I_Read_Your_Book