Jump to content


999 Ping


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

Ulrack #1 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 04:44

    Private

  • Players
  • 660 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-27-2011
Sometimes when I finish Loading a game my ping will be 999 and ill need to close the game with task manager and relaunch WOT to fix it. Its been doing this more frequent lately and its really annoying when you have to launch the game repeatedly. Anyone know how to fix this?

GoofyGoober #2 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 04:46

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 3360 battles
  • 663
  • Member since:
    05-14-2011
I've had lower than 10 fps, and over 400 ping, since 7.0.

kllp101 #3 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 05:01

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 11297 battles
  • 815
  • Member since:
    11-13-2010
Its either your internet connection or settings. Lowering the setting will help with ping a bit. If you dont have good internet, then 999 ping is common on a game dependent on internet. Try regular internet speed tests if its slowing down, then you can complain to your intenret provider that your getting less each month :P

Ulrack #4 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 05:09

    Private

  • Players
  • 660 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-27-2011

View Postkllp101, on Jan 08 2012 - 05:01, said:

Its either your internet connection or settings. Lowering the setting will help with ping a bit. If you dont have good internet, then 999 ping is common on a game dependent on internet. Try regular internet speed tests if its slowing down, then you can complain to your intenret provider that your getting less each month :P
Im sure its not my provider or my settings because once i restart the game my ping is fine.

cWal16 #5 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 05:18

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3846 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    06-29-2011
I have the same problem when I get on after not playing for a week or so. I just restart it and get on with life. My ping has been up in the 200-400(used to be 50-150) since the 7.1 patch though...

Ulrack #6 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 05:19

    Private

  • Players
  • 660 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-27-2011

View PostcWal16, on Jan 08 2012 - 05:18, said:

I have the same problem when I get on after not playing for a week or so. I just restart it and get on with life. My ping has been up in the 200-400(used to be 50-150) since the 7.1 patch though...
When its not giving me 999 ping my ping is always 120-160 and thats always been my average.

Genericnamehere #7 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 07:08

    Private

  • Players
  • 26706 battles
  • 9
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-13-2011
I've had the same problem since the patch. How do you connect to the web? wireless?

Potoroo #8 Posted Jan 08 2012 - 19:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 16592 battles
  • 3,446
  • Member since:
    04-26-2011

View Postkllp101, on Jan 08 2012 - 05:01, said:

Its either your internet connection or settings. Lowering the setting will help with ping a bit.
No, it isn't. The 7.x clients are simply much less resilient to things like lag spikes than the 6.x clients were. I suspect it's related to the implementation of the new server clusters. Either way, the problem is not my Internet connection per se, it's the way WoT no longer handles connection problems as gracefully as it once did.

This is an example of normal performance for me (in this case Karelia; my fps ordinarily varies from 65-120fps on that map; normal ping for me is 260-280ms):

Posted Image

This is an example of what now happens after a lag spike or some other kind of failure between the client and the server:

Posted Image

One thing I've noticed when this happens is that CPU utilisation drops from its normal 30-35% during battle to 0%. It almost never comes back and I usually have to hard reboot there and then. Even on those rare occasions it does come back the client remains unstable and if I'm able to do a "clean" exit my system remains affected (I call it "turtle mode"), and once again I have to hard reboot. I must say I haven't seen this sort of thing for some years now and certainly never on W7 x64. A well behaved application should not be able to affect the system core, but game developers are notorious for cutting corners.

This problem is so severe for me I'm thinking of rebuilding my system next week so I can reinstall WoT on a clean build. If that doesn't fix the problem I'll just have to give up on WoT altogether. It's that bad.

Edit: is everybody with the 999 ping problem running Win7 x64?

dbsimms63 #9 Posted Jan 09 2012 - 19:01

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 24968 battles
  • 30
  • [ONK] ONK
  • Member since:
    08-15-2011

View PostGoofyGoober, on Jan 08 2012 - 04:46, said:

I've had lower than 10 fps, and over 400 ping, since 7.0.
Me too.  It starts out great at the beginning of the battle, 35-40 fps and ping of around 35-75.  Then right when things heat up, ping goes to 400-999 and fps drops to 2-3 and you are in slow motion and can't fight, really discouraging.  Didn't have this problem before 7.0 came out.  I have some plots and have attached them.  I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64 and I stop my anti virus, firewall,unnecessary processes before I begin the game, so my Core 2 Duo T9400 isn't working on non essential things, and I connect directly to my router via CAT 5, I don't use wireless.  Oh and I'm on the NA server.

Attached Files

  • Attached File   wot ping plot.PNG   125.03K
  • Attached File   test.txt   936bytes


grego34 #10 Posted Jan 15 2012 - 06:25

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12369 battles
  • 520
  • Member since:
    10-26-2010
the same thing is happening to me now with the ping going up and the screen freezes on me in game..  Every thing was fine until a few days ago.. i have done multiple ping test--unstalled the game twice.. check my router connection.. i have dell XPS 7100 studio w/ ACPIx64
ATI radeon HD4200 256 ram
AMD Athlon IIX4 630 processor  2.80GHZ
64-bit operating system

ATI high definition audio

Potoroo #11 Posted Jan 19 2012 - 19:58

    Major

  • Players
  • 16592 battles
  • 3,446
  • Member since:
    04-26-2011
With Support's help I have identified the cause of my problem as a conflict between WoT and my antivirus (Vipre). I now have to get the Vipre people to fix it but adding WoT to the Exceptions list is an effective workaround.

jamespaulman #12 Posted May 18 2012 - 17:59

    Private

  • Players
  • 164 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    04-16-2012
http://theorderofthe...ks-999-ping-bug

It's all good  this works!