Jump to content


Game settings in preferences.xml


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
166 replies to this topic

merig00 #1 Posted Jul 08 2010 - 17:23

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010
DISCLAIMER YOU ARE DOING ALL THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. I'M NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT MIGHT HAPPEN, UNLESS IT WORKS THAN YOU CAN SAY THANK YOU :D

You can play around with different (mostly video) settings in the file preferences.xml

You can find the file at following location:

- for Windows Vista or Windows 7 (C:\Users\User name\AppData\Roaming\wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks)
- for Windows XP (C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Application Data\wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks)

View PostNinja2dan, on Jul 19 2010 - 04:36, said:

In Windows Vista, the AppData folder is hidden. To show it, go to your C:\Users\*UserName* (by default it's admin) folder and from the toolbar, select Tools>Folder Options... and click on the View tab. Under the section Advanced Settings you'll see a lot of check-boxes. Select the option to show hidden and system files, as the current selection will be hiding those folders/files. You can now view/access the AppData/W/ folder.

You can edit it with Notepad

Turn on/off FPS and ping on the screen: false - off, true - on
<showFPS> false </showFPS>

SKY_LIGHT_MAP, shadows from the clouds. 0 - on. 1- off. Default setting - off.

MRT_DEPTH, special rendering with use of depth buffer. 0 - on. 1- off. Might increase fps on new video cards. Default setting - off. Requires client reboot.

SHADER_VERSION_CAP. shader version: 0 - 3, 1 - 2. Default = 0.

TEXTURE_QUALITY. : 0 - max, 1 - medium, 2 - minimal. This setting puts the most strain on the used system and video memories.

TEXTURE_FILTERING. : 0 - anisotropic 16х, 1 - anisotropic 8х, 2 - anisotropic 4х, 3 - anisotropic 2х, 4 - trilinear.

SHADOWS_QUALITY. Quality of tank's shadow: from 0 - max to 3 - no shadows at all.

SHADOWS_COUNT. Number of tank's shadows: from 0 = 32 shadows to 6 = 1 shadow.

TERRAIN_MESH_RESOLUTION. : 0 - high, 1 - medium. 2 - low.

SPEEDTREE_QUALITY. Quality of trees and bushes: from 0 - high to 3 - very low.

WATER_QUALITY. : from 0 - high to 3 - very low.

FAR_PLANE. Rendering depth (how far you can see): from 0 - the farthest to 2 - 50% from max. (I'd keep it at 0 unless you video car really sucks)

FLORA_DENSITY. grass density: от 0 - max, to 4 - no grass at all.

OBJECT_LOD. details on objects: 0 - max, to 2 - low lever of details will turn on at close distance.

Window mode:
<windowed> false - off, true - onn
Screen resolution: if you need display resolution, which is not available from the menu, find the following lines
<fullscreenWidth> 1024 </fullscreenWidth>
<fullscreenHeight> 768 </fullscreenHeight>
and change the corresponding values.

Vertical Sync:
<waitVSync> false - off, true - on

tripleBuffering:
<tripleBuffering> false - off, true - on

Audio settings:
<soundPrefs> 0.000000 - off, 1.000000 on on medium lvl
the following are self-explanatory:D
<masterVolume>
<volume_vehicles>
<volume_music>
<volume_effects>
<volume_ambient>
<volume_voice>

<sniperMode> mouse sensitivity in sniper mode

<arcadeMode> mouse sensitivity in arcade mode

<strategicMode> mouse sensitivity in howitzer mode

Inversion:
<horzInvert> false </horzInvert> - X-axis
<vertInvert> false </vertInvert> - Y-axis

lobbyTooltipDelay delay in hints display in lobby


View PostSkarovich, on Jul 20 2010 - 21:30, said:

This is a Field of View fix. (If your game appears stretched or squashed)

1. Find your preferences.xml
2. Edit the line
<aspectRatio> 1.250000 </aspectRatio>
based on one of the following:
If your using a 16:10 resolution (1440x900, 1920x1200, etc) set it to 1.600000
If your using a 16:9 resolution (1280, 720, 1920x1080, etc) set it to 1.778000
If your using a 4:3 resolution (1024x768, 1600x1200, etc) set it to 1.333000
If your using a 5:4 resolution, then you are weird. But set it to 1.250000
3. Save, and right click on preferences.xml, select preferences.
4. Check [Read-Only] at the bottom and accept.

This will have the unfortunate side effect of not saving any of your in-game options if you change them after doing this fix. To allow changing of the options again, you'll have to remove the [Read-Only] tag. But if you already have all your setting like you want them already, then your all set.

Note: Double and Triple monitor set ups will require a different aspect ratio, but I'm assuming that if you know enough to properly run double/triple-head, you know what aspect ratio you are running. Rule of thumb: Width divided by Height equals Ratio. (Example: 1440/900=1.6) This formula can be used for all resolutions, in case you don't know what aspect ratio you are running.




The following are obsolete and not being supported as of right now:

FOOT_PRINTS

BUMPED_RENDERING


IMPORTANT: DO NOT GIVE YOUR FILE TO OTHER USERS. THIS FILE CONTAINS YOUR LOGIN AND PASSWORD!!!!


merig00 #2 Posted Jul 08 2010 - 17:23

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010
DISCLAIMER YOU ARE DOING ALL THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. I'M NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT MIGHT HAPPEN, UNLESS IT WORKS THAN YOU CAN SAY THANK YOU :D


Also if you really need to boost FPS you can remove some file:

REMOVING CLOUDS:
Find the following folder WOT=>Res=>Maps=>Skyboxes and rename Skyboxes for example as Skyboxes2

REMOVING FIRE AND SMOKE FROM BURNING TANKS:
Find the following folder WOT=>Res=>particles=>Tank
Rename the files containing the following in their names
Explosion
Fire
Flaming
Add number 2 to the name (i.e. fire_12/fire_22/fire_32 etc.)


REMOVING SMOKE FROM TANK EXHAUST
Get to World_of_Tanks_closed_Beta\res\particles\Tank

Find files engine_exit_diesel and engine_exit_gass

Replace them with files attached to this post. Don't forget to save somewhere the original files.

Attached Files

  • Attached File   engine_exit_diesel.xml   955bytes
  • Attached File   engine_exit_gass.xml   955bytes


dooston #3 Posted Jul 08 2010 - 17:26

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 178 battles
  • 451
  • [TB] TB
  • Member since:
    07-06-2010
thanks dude i have had some problems with minor lag issues  because of my laptop, not that i saw people disappearing and appearing but my mouse movement was delayed a bit and aiming was pretty dificult. and sometimes it stutterd.

panzergulo #4 Posted Jul 08 2010 - 17:51

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 642
  • Member since:
    07-03-2010
Thank you very much. I'll check the invert y-axis as soon as possible.

merig00 #5 Posted Jul 08 2010 - 19:56

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010
You should check this topic out http://forum.worldof...__0

I don't have Vista so use your search function to look up that file

gizaman #6 Posted Jul 09 2010 - 10:31

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 845
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
You need to move the files for the engine_exit_gass and engine_exit_diesel
They are in the russian forum and you cant access them with an european only account.!!!


Also there are new modifiers in the file that is not described like water_simulation...

Far_plane is default 1 as I see it. That is a DISGRACE, new players cant see so far as they should....

Must talk to developers again...

merig00 #7 Posted Jul 09 2010 - 14:02

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010
Good catch!
Hmm are you sure about Far_plane? Do you have your graphics on max?

Palora #8 Posted Jul 10 2010 - 03:39

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 322
  • Member since:
    03-17-2010
Any way to remove, or tune down the particle effects from the smoke when the gun fires, it slows down my pc when i'm zoomed in/1st person.

merig00 #9 Posted Jul 10 2010 - 03:43

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010

View PostPalora, on Jul 10 2010 - 03:39, said:

Any way to remove, or tune down the particle effects from the smoke when the gun fires, it slows down my pc when i'm zoomed in/1st person.
Should be in the same folder WOT=>Res=>particles=>Tank I haven't had a problem with that so haven't look for it. Dig around there on your own risk. If it works report back :)

merig00 #10 Posted Jul 10 2010 - 07:08

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010

View Poststevent, on Jul 10 2010 - 06:12, said:

is there something like hud pov ? I want to change position of the minimap closer to the center of the screen
(i use triple monitor)

ty
Nothing like that yet. Create a topic in suggestions forum.

Armitxes #11 Posted Jul 10 2010 - 08:29

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 1,148
  • Member since:
    07-02-2010

Quote

Screen resolution: if you need display resolution, which is not available from the menu, find the following lines
<fullscreenWidth> 1024 </fullscreenWidth>
<fullscreenHeight> 768 </fullscreenHeight>
and change the corresponding values.
You can't edit this, it will changes to old values if you launch the client (i tried)

gizaman #12 Posted Jul 10 2010 - 16:50

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 845
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
the problem with far_plane , and the developers know this. Is that if you turn graphics down, your far_plane value goes down.

What does that mean?

That means you cant see as far out as you should. Tanks will not appear even when they are in your view range.

It is okay to lower graphics but to cripple yourself that is not good. Players do not know this but the developers should fix this soon.

merig00 #13 Posted Jul 10 2010 - 19:39

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010

View PostArmitxes, on Jul 10 2010 - 08:29, said:

You can't edit this, it will changes to old values if you launch the client (i tried)
Hmm worked in the same game version but russian beta. Weird. I'll have to see for myself.

View Postgizaman, on Jul 10 2010 - 16:50, said:

the problem with far_plane , and the developers know this. Is that if you turn graphics down, your far_plane value goes down.

What does that mean?

That means you cant see as far out as you should. Tanks will not appear even when they are in your view range.

It is okay to lower graphics but to cripple yourself that is not good. Players do not know this but the developers should fix this soon.
That's why I made a note to keep it on the highest level.

FnMag #14 Posted Jul 11 2010 - 01:06

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 3586 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    07-06-2010

View PostKarakanov, on Jul 08 2010 - 19:49, said:

what about window's vista?! there's no preferences.xml anywhere to be found on my computer?! my game won't even run because of some directx problem, the thing won't install on my computer, and it says something about:
This is what it said in my DXError.log wheni tried running the DirectX thingy tht came with the installer:
--------------------
[07/08/10 13:07:48] module: dxupdate(Jun 2 2010), file: dxupdate.cpp, line: 1269, function: CabCallback

Failed API: DeleteFile()
Error: (5) - Access is denied.



Unable to delete C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Temp\DX63A4.tmp\d3dx9_24.dll.

--------------------
[07/08/10 13:07:48] module: dxupdate(Jun 2 2010), file: dxupdate.cpp, line: 5725, function: DirectXUpdateInstallPlugIn

Failed API: SetupIterateCabinet()
Error: (1224) - The requested operation cannot be performed on a file with a user-mapped section open.



Unable to iterate through C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Temp\is-JJHVJ.tmp\redist\DIRECT~1\Feb2005_d3dx9_24_x64.cab. The file may be damaged.

--------------------
[07/08/10 13:07:48] module: dsetup32(Jun 2 2010), file: dxupdate.cpp, line: 280, function: CSetup::InstallPlugIn

DirectXUpdateInstallPlugIn() failed.

--------------------
[07/08/10 13:07:48] module: dsetup32(Jun 2 2010), file: setup.cpp, line: 1723, function: CSetup::SetupForDirectX

InstallPlugIn() failed.

What the heck is going on here?!


To find these folders in VISTA, go --> C:\Games\World_of_Tanks_closed_Beta\res

merig00 #15 Posted Jul 11 2010 - 07:32

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010

View PostSchizophrenic, on Jul 11 2010 - 06:26, said:

Couldn't you just put the settings on low, and then go in preferences.xml and change far_plane to 0?
Also, the resolution setting worked for me on my 1920x1080 monitor.
That's what I did. It all works for me.

merig00 #16 Posted Jul 14 2010 - 00:59

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010

View Postwololo, on Jul 14 2010 - 00:32, said:

That folder isn't even available for me, and I'm running on XP.
probably invisible. chance your windows folder settings.

merig00 #17 Posted Jul 14 2010 - 02:55

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 413 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010

View PostFRIENDLYUNIT, on Jul 14 2010 - 02:34, said:

Hmmm. I'm running win7 64bit and am unable to find a preferences.xml file at all. Also, any .xml file I open with notepad has weird characters in it so I'm reluctant to edit...

I just want to invert my mouse :(
That's weird... hmm I know on XP that folder is invisible... what about Win7? Can you get at least to the Windows 7: C:\Users\*UserName* (by default it's admin)\AppData\Roaming\ folder?

norbi19888 #18 Posted Jul 16 2010 - 18:45

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010
HI all,

MRT_DEPTH causing weird glitch in tank glowing, what I meant - our tank is always glowing on white, sometimes enemy or our tank got weird glowing stripes that runs through.

I got HD 5770.

Evesix #19 Posted Jul 17 2010 - 06:10

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 1490 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010
Whenever i open the xml file with notepad or wordpad it opens up with alot of wierd characters, so im not sure what im doing. Any way to fix this/change it?

WMD #20 Posted Jul 17 2010 - 15:07

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12561 battles
  • 286
  • Member since:
    02-18-2010
Any commands to increase ping ? such as latency settings ?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users